"Why Won't You Just Tell Us the Answer?"

Teaching Historical Thinking in Grades 7-12

Every major measure of students' historical understanding since 1917 has demonstrated that students do not retain, understand, or enjoy their school experiences with history. Bruce Lesh believes that this is due to the way we teach history -- lecture and memorization. Over the last fifteen years, Bruce has refined a method of teaching history that mirrors the process used by historians, where students are taught to ask questions of evidence and develop historical explanations. --from publisher description.

The Memory Hole

The U.S. History Curriculum Under Siege

The Memory Hole

The U.S. history curriculum is under attack. Politicians, political analysts, and ideologues seek to wipe clean the slate of the American past and replace it with one of their own invention. The basis for this new narrative comes from political beliefs of the present, rather than any systematic examination of the past. These antihistorians campaign to insert their version of American history into the nation’s classrooms, hoping to begin a process that will forever transform our understanding of America’s past. The Memory Hole examines five central topics in the US history curriculum, showing how antihistorians of both the left and right seek to distort these topics and insert a refashioned story in America’s classrooms. Ignoring facts, refashioning other facts and pretending that there are no rules in the telling of history, these reinterpreters of the past place the minds of America’s young people in danger. The beleaguered hero of this book is the discipline of History, and The Memory Hole shows how the history curriculum should adhere to history’s habits of mind that require complex, sophisticated and subtle thinking about the past. History and social studies teachers, students of history and all those who care about the deep and enduring value of history will value this book and its conclusions.

Improving Reading Comprehension of Middle and High School Students

Improving Reading Comprehension of Middle and High School Students

This volume focuses on our understanding of the reading comprehension of adolescents in a high stakes academic environment. Leading researchers share their most current research on each issue, covering theory and empirical research from a range of specializations, including various content areas, English language learners, students with disabilities, and reading assessment. Topics discussed include: cognitive models of reading comprehension and how they relate to typical or atypical development of reading comprehension, reading in history classes, comprehension of densely worded and symbolic mathematical texts, understanding causality in science texts, the more rigorous comprehension standards in English language arts classes, balancing the practical and measurement constraints of the assessment of reading comprehension, understanding the needs and challenges of English language learners and students in special education with respect to the various content areas discussed in this book. This book is of interest to researchers in literacy and educational psychology as well as curriculum developers.

The Ghost of the Yellow Two-Story House

The Ghost of the Yellow Two-Story House

Mike and his family move from the big city to a little town in the middle of nowhere, where Mike hopes to find new friends. After the first couple of days at the new school, he discovers that it isn’t so easy—especially after everyone finds out that he moved into the yellow two-story house over on 7th Street. Rumor has it that anyone who moves into that house will surely die. He does not understand what everyone is talking about until he meets up, face-to-face, with a little girl in a white dress. What happened to this little girl and why did she die? These are just a few of the many questions Mike is determined to find the answers to. With the help of some new friends, he soon finds out that he might discover more than he bargained for.

Teaching High School Science Through Inquiry and Argumentation

Teaching High School Science Through Inquiry and Argumentation

Proven ways to teach next generation science! To ensure our students achieve scientific literacy, we need to know what works in science teaching. One thing we know for certain: inquiry and argumentation are key. This groundbreaking book for Grades 9–12 addresses the new direction of science standards by emphasizing both inquiry-based and argument-based instruction. Filled with case studies and vignettes, this edition features: Exceptional coverage of scientific argumentation Enhanced chapters on assessment and classroom management Questioning techniques that promote the most learning Activities that emphasize making claims and citing evidence New examples of inquiry investigations New approaches to traditional labs

Bloody Bones

An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel

Bloody Bones

For the first time in trade paperback: the fifth novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling series. When Branson, Missouri, is hit with a death wave? four unsolved murders?it doesn?t take an expert to realize that all is not well. But luckily for the locals, Anita Blake is an expert in the kinds of preternatural goings-on that have everyone spooked. And she?s got an ?in? with the creature that can make sense of the slayings??the sexy master vampire known as Jean-Claude.

The Famous and the Dead

A Charlie Hood Novel

The Famous and the Dead

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, author of The Room of White Fire, comes the explosive finale in his Charlie Hood series, which will bring together the destinies of three men caught between light and darkness, and now features an excerpt from his upcoming novel The Room of White Fire. Los Angeles County sheriff’s deputy Charlie Hood is attached to the ATF, working undercover on the illegal arms trade that flows across the U.S.-Mexico border. The sparkle of the diamond fillings he wears in his left canine distracts his task force targets and is often the first step toward a long stay behind bars. Meanwhile, Bradley Jones—sheriff’s deputy, employee of the Baja Cartel, and son of the love of Charlie’s life—is expecting a son of his own. Bradley, supposedly descended from the famed Mexican outlaw Joaquin Murrieta, has reaped the rewards of his treachery, keeping a hoard of cash and jewelry in a secret lair on his property. Charlie knows Bradley’s secrets, all of them; the question is what he’ll do with the information. But he still has to contend with the devilish Mike Finnegan, who flits in and out of the lives of his friends, knows things he should not know, is seemingly immortal, and delights in the havoc he wreaks in the orbits of everyone he touches.... All three are about to meet. But all will not survive....

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Collection 1-5

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Collection 1-5

A collection of the first five novels in Laurell K. Hamilton's New York Times bestselling Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series. • Guilty Pleasures • The Laughing Corpse • Circus of the Damned • The Lunatic Cafe • Bloody Bones

A Fairy Yarn

A Fairy Yarn

MaryLynn ML Meyer is a present day 14-year-old who doesnt see herself as anything special. For her, the world revolves around books and her family. She may not admit it, even to herself, but she has a secret longing for adventure. Adventure finds her! One evening she is magically whisked off the country of Heinovla, which is in a world of fairies, a world ML didnt think existed. After she arrives she discovers that the entire royal family has gone bad, and they could care less if their conquering forces destroy half the population, just so they can have the entire country once and for all under their thumb. When ML learns this she agrees to help and becomes a spy. With her new fairy sidekicks she sets off to gather information to send back. Along the way she wards off dullahans, learns to swordfight, falls in love for the first time, and discovers an important family secret. What is it that her mother has kept from her for all of her fourteen years? After a bloody battle, will she be able to survive and enjoy the new knowledge she gains?

W.W.J.D.? (What Would Jesus Do?)

A Drama for Today's Youth

W.W.J.D.? (What Would Jesus Do?)

W.W.J.D. (What Would Jesus Do?) is a youth drama which addresses the struggles young people face when they attempt to deal with peer pressure while being true to their faith. Youth will easily relate to Stacy (the main character) as she searches for answers to her questions regarding life and her own relationship with God.