Truthwitch

A Witchlands Novel

Truthwitch

On a continent ruled by three empires, everyone is born with a "witchery," a magical skill that sets them apart from others. Now, as the Twenty Year Truce in a centuries long war is about to end, the balance of power-and the failing health of all magic-will fall on the shoulders of a mythical pair called the Cahr Awen. The biggest thing on Safi and Noelle's minds is saving money for their planned future in the Hundred Isles. Noelle, a Threadwitch, can see the emotional Threads binding the world. Safi, on the other hand, is a Truthwitch-she always knows when a person is telling a lie. A powerful magic like that is something people would kill to have on their side-or to keep off their enemy's side-and so Safi cannot even admit what she truly is. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and privateer) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must rise above their doubts and fight to learn who they are and what they are made of, if they are going to stay alive and preserve the balance of their world. "An instant new classic."--Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author of Throne of Glass, on Susan Dennard's Truthwitch At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Bloodwitch

A Witchlands Novel

Bloodwitch

Susan Dennard's New York Times bestselling, young adult epic fantasy Witchlands series continues with the story of the Bloodwitch Aeduan. Aeduan has teamed up with the Threadwitch Iseult and the magical girl Owl to stop a bloodthirsty horde of raiders preparing to destroy a monastery that holds more than just faith. But to do so, he must confront his own father, and his past. “Worldbuilding after my own heart. It’s so good it’s intimidating.”—Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen The Witchlands #1 Truthwitch #2 Windwitch #3 Bloodwitch Sightwitch (illustrated novella) At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Windwitch

A Witchlands Novel

Windwitch

Susan Dennard returns with a follow up to New York Times bestselling novel Truthwitch. After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred yet alive, Merik is determined to prove his sister’s treachery. Upon reaching the royal capital, crowded with refugees, he haunts the streets, fighting for the weak—which leads to whispers of a disfigured demigod, the Fury, who brings justice to the oppressed. When the Bloodwitch Aeduan discovers a bounty on Iseult, he makes sure to be the first to find her—yet in a surprise twist, Iseult offers him a deal. She will return money stolen from him, if he locates Safi. Now they must work together to cross the Witchlands, while constantly wondering, who will betray whom first? After a surprise attack and shipwreck, Safi and the Empress of Marstok barely escape with their lives. Alone in a land of pirates, every moment balances on a knife’s edge—especially when the pirates’ next move could unleash war upon the Witchlands. Sometimes our enemies are also our only allies... At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Beyond the Blockbusters

Themes and Trends in Contemporary Young Adult Fiction

Beyond the Blockbusters

Contributions by Megan Brown, Jill Coste, Sara K. Day, Rachel Dean-Ruzicka, Rebekah Fitzsimmons, Amber Gray, Roxanne Harde, Tom Jesse, Heidi Jones, Kaylee Jangula Mootz, Leah Phillips, Rachel L. Rickard Rebellino, S. R. Toliver, Jason Vanfosson, Sarah E. Whitney, and Casey Alane Wilson While critical and popular attention afforded to twenty-first-century young adult literature has exponentially increased in recent years, classroom materials and scholarship have remained static in focus and slight in scope. Twilight, The Hunger Games, The Fault in Our Stars, and The Hate U Give overwhelm conversations among scholars and critics—but these are far from the only texts in need of analysis. Beyond the Blockbusters: Themes and Trends in Contemporary Young Adult Fiction offers a necessary remedy to this limiting perspective, bringing together essays about the many subgenres, themes, and character types that have until now been overlooked. The collection tackles a diverse range of topics—modern updates to the marriage plot; fairy tale retellings in dystopian settings; stories of extrajudicial police killings and racial justice. The approaches are united, though, by a commitment to exploring the large-scale generic and theoretical structures at work in each set of texts. As a collection, Beyond the Blockbusters is an exciting entryway into a field that continues to grow and change even as its works captivate massive audiences. It will prove a crucial addition to the library of any scholar or instructor of young adult literature.

Windwitch: Witchlands 2

Windwitch: Witchlands 2

A WITCHLANDS BOOK 2 On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a "witchery," a magical skill that sets them apart from others. In this sequel to New York Times bestselling Truthwitch, a shadow man haunts the Nubrevnan streets, leaving corpses in his wake-and then raising those corpses from the dead. Windwitch continues the tale of Merik-cunning privateer, prince, and windwitch. PRAISE FOR TRUTHWITCH: WITCHLANDS 1 "Truthwitch by Susan Dennard is like a cake stuffed full of your favorite fantasy treats..." Robin Hobb "Truthwitch is an instant new classic. It reminded me of why I started reading fantasy in the first place..." Sarah J. Mass

Bloodwitch

Bloodwitch

Bloodwitch is the third book in the stunning Witchlands series by Susan Dennard, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan. Loyalties will be tested as never before. The Raider King's plans to claim the Witchlands are under way. Now, his forces sow terror in the mountains, slaughtering innocents. After finding the slain, Aeduan and Iseult race for safety. And despite differing goals, they've grown to trust one another in the fight to survive. Yet the Bloodwitch keeps a secret that could change everything . . . When Merik sacrifices himself to save his friends, he is captured by the Fury. However, Merik isn't one to give up easily, and he'll do whatever it takes to save those he loves. And in Marstok, Safi the Truthwitch agrees to help the empress uncover a rebellion. But those implicated are killed and Safi becomes desperate for freedom. War has come once more to the Witchlands. Perhaps if Safi and Iseult were united, their powers could bring peace. But chaos is not easily tamed.