Titanic: Young Survivors (10 True Tales)

Titanic: Young Survivors (10 True Tales)

Relive history through these amazing moment-by-moment accounts of the famous shipwreck and what ten young people did to survive. Seventeen-year-old Jack Thayer looks over the side of the sinking Titanic and stares into the frigid sea. He knows he has to jump, but can he? Fifteen-year-old Edith Brown and her mother beg her father to join them in Lifeboat 14. Why won't he? Eleven-year-old Billy Carter kneels down on the slanting deck of the ship and hugs his beloved Airedale. But how can he save himself and his dog, too? These young people and seven more from many walks of life tell of the terrifying decisions they faced on the night of April 14, 1912, when the unthinkable occurred and the "unsinkable" ship began to go down.

Titanic

Young Survivors

Titanic

Eleven-year-old Billy Carter kneels down on the slanting deck of the Titanic and hugs his beloved dog -- a tan and black Airedale. Can Billy save himself and his pet? Fifteen-year-old Edith Brown and her mother climb into Lifeboat 14. Edith begs her

The Rose Man of Sing Sing

A True Tale of Life, Murder, and Redemption in the Age of Yellow Journalism

The Rose Man of Sing Sing

This biography of the early 20th-century newspaper giant who became news after killing his wife “has the pace and detail of an engrossing historical novel” (Boston Herald). As city editor of Joseph Pulitzer’s New York Evening World, Charles E. Chapin was the quintessential newsroom tyrant: he drove reporters relentlessly, setting the pace for evening press journalism with blockbuster stories from the Harry K. Thaw trial to the sinking of the Titanic. At the pinnacle of his fame in 1918, Chapin was deeply depressed and facing financial ruin. He decided to kill himself and his wife Nellie. But after shooting Nellie in her sleep, he failed to take his own life. The trial made one hell of a story for the Evening World’s competitors, and Chapin was sentenced to life in Ossining, New York’s, infamous Sing Sing Prison. In The Rose Man of Sing Sing, James McGrath Morris tracks Chapin’s journey from Chicago street reporter to celebrity New York powerbroker to infamous murderer. But Chapin’s story is not without redemption: in prison, he started a newspaper fighting for prisoner rights, wrote a best-selling autobiography, had two long-distance love affairs, and transformed barren prison plots into world-famous rose gardens. The first biography of one of the founding figures of modern American journalism, and a vibrant chronicle of the cutthroat culture of scoops and scandals, The Rose Man of Sing Sing is also a hidden history of New York at its most colorful and passionate.

Historic Colorado Mansions & Castles

Historic Colorado Mansions & Castles

The discovery of gold and silver in Colorado's Rocky Mountains minted millionaires by the ton. The rough settlements of miners and ranchers quickly transformed into habitations more suitable for the newly wealthy class. William Newton Byers founded the Centennial State's first newspaper and built an Italianate-style palace with the proceeds, while Walter Scott Cheesman's Capitol Hill home later became the governor's residence. Stroll into the parlors and drawing rooms of oligarchs like August A. Meyer, Lyman Robison and James Joseph Brown. Visit Romanesque castles cut from native lava and country retreats designed by the country's foremost architects. Linda Wommack offers a tour of the finest mansions in Colorado, all proudly bearing the mark of the State and National Registers of Historic Preservation.

Répertitres

Répertitres


TIME

TIME


Video Movie Guide 2002

Video Movie Guide 2002

This bestselling video guide to films, serials, TV movies, and old TV series available on video is completely updated with the newest releases. Containing more than 18,000 listings, this revised edition includes 400 new entries that are detailed with a summary, commentary, director, cast members, MPAA rating, and authors' rating.

Lifeboat 12

Lifeboat 12

“This page-turning true-life adventure is filled with rich and riveting details and a timeless understanding of the things that matter most.”—Dashka Slater, author of The 57 Bus “Brilliantly told in verse, readers will love Ken Sparks.” —Patricia Reilly Giff, two-time Newbery Honor winner “Lyrical, terrifying, and even at times funny. A richly detailed account of a little-known event in World War II.” —Kirkus Reviews “Middle grade Titanic fans, here’s your next read.” —BCCB “An edge-of-your seat survival tale.” —School Library Journal (starred review) A Junior Library Guild Selection A 2019 Golden Kite Middle Grade Fiction Award Winner In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella By Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy’s harrowing experience on a lifeboat after surviving a torpedo attack during World War II. With Nazis bombing London every night, it’s time for thirteen-year-old Ken to escape. He suspects his stepmother is glad to see him go, but his dad says he’s one of the lucky ones—one of ninety boys and girls to ship out aboard the SS City of Benares to safety in Canada. Life aboard the luxury ship is grand—nine-course meals, new friends, and a life far from the bombs, rations, and his stepmum’s glare. And after five days at sea, the ship’s officers announce that they’re out of danger. They’re wrong. Late that night, an explosion hurls Ken from his bunk. They’ve been hit. Torpedoed! The Benares is sinking fast. Terrified, Ken scrambles aboard Lifeboat 12 with five other boys. Will they get away? Will they survive? Award-winning author Susan Hood brings this little-known World War II story to life in a riveting novel of courage, hope, and compassion. Based on true events and real people, Lifeboat 12 is about believing in one another, knowing that only by banding together will we have any chance to survive.

Ten Years of Irish Publishing

Books Received for Review by Books Ireland Magazine, 1990-1999 : Bibliographical Listings by Title, Cross-referenced by Author Or Editor and the Subject of Biography Or Criticism, All Referred to the Page of Review Or Listing

Ten Years of Irish Publishing


Best books for children

preschool through grade 6. Supplement to the eighth edition

Best books for children