The True Meaning of Smekday

The True Meaning of Smekday

Aliens have invaded Earth and instructed all of the humans to move to Florida. They landed on Christmas Day ? now named Smekday, after the glorious leader of the Boovs, Captain Smek. Gratuity Tucci doesn't want to be shipped off to Florida in a rocketpod. She has a plan . . . Luckily Gratuity can drive ? she nails tin cans to her shoes to reach the pedals. She had to learn after her mum was abducted by the aliens. So begins an epic journey with a brilliant girl hero, a cat named Pig and a friendly Boov who's taken the human name J.Lo, all determined to save the Earth from a much bigger threat . . . This original, imaginative and wonderfully wacky sci-fi adventure inspired the major motion picture, HOME

Smek for President

Smek for President

J.Lo made a gargantuan mistake and the Boov were banished from Earth. Now he is hated by them all. But certain that his fellow aliens will forgive him, J.Lo journeys to New Boovland to prove his loyalty to them. With the sharp eye and stealth of his human friend Gratuity, can J.Lo really go head-to-head for power with the supreme HighBoov Captain Smek – and win? This brilliant, original comic sci-fi adventure from New York Times bestselling author Adam Rex gives us more of the madcap antics and laugh-out-loud lines that we loved about The True Meaning of Smekday, the book that inspired the major motion picture HOME

School's First Day of School

School's First Day of School

It's the first day of school at Frederick Douglass Elementary and everyone's just a little bit nervous, especially the school itself. What will the children do once they come? Will they like the school? Will they be nice to him? The school has a rough start, but as the day goes on, he soon recovers when he sees that he's not the only one going through first-day jitters.

On Account of the Gum

On Account of the Gum

On Account of the Gum is a book about how the best intentions lead to some of the worst (and funniest) ideas! Serious humor abounds in this story about one kid's hilarious misadventures with gum, and the cumulative buildup of stuff stuck in hair. From the madcap mind of Adam Rex comes a book about the improbable, downright bizarre remedies for a problem kids have faced since the creation of gum. • Features hilarious text with unexpected turns and fun rhymes • Wacky suggestions make this prime for constant giggles and repeat reading • Author Adam Rex has a funny, smart, and relatable style How do you get gum out of your hair—a pair of scissors? Butter? The cat? Call your aunt, she'll know what to do. She doesn't? Try the fire department! With each page turn, this situation—relatable to any family—grows stickier and more desperate. • A wonderful blend of light wordplay, zany humor, and a timeless topic • Perfect for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't! • Great for parents, grandparents, teachers, librarians, booksellers, and educators who are looking for a funny, relatable tale to read out loud • You'll love this book if you love books like We Don't Eat Our Classmates by Ryan T. Higgins, The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt, and The Bad Seed by Jory John.

The Smek Smeries, Book 2 Smek for President!

The Smek Smeries, Book 2 Smek for President!

In this much anticipated sequel to The True Meaning of Smekday, Tip and J.Lo are back for another hilarious intergalactic adventure. And this time (and last time, and maybe next time), they want to make things right with the Boov. After Tip and J.Lo banished the Gorg from Earth in a scheme involving the cloning of many, many cats, the pair is notorious-but not for their heroics. Instead, human Dan Landry has taken credit for conquering the Gorg, and the Boov blame J.Lo for ruining their colonization of the planet. Determined to clear his name, J.Lo and Tip pack into Slushious, a Chevy that J.Lo has engineered into a fairly operational spaceship, and head to New Boovworld, the aliens' new home on one of Saturn's moons. But their welcome isn't quite as warm as Tip and J.Lo would have liked. J.Lo is dubbed Public Enemy Number One, and Captain Smek knows that capturing the alien is the only way he'll stand a chance in the Boovs' first-ever presidential election. With the help of a friendly flying billboard named Bill, a journey through various garbage chutes, a bit of time travel, and a slew of hilarious Boovish accents, Tip and J.Lo must fight to set the record straight-and return home in once piece. Praise for Smek for President!* "Rex is a comic genius." -School Library Journal, starred review * "[P]lenty of gleeful ridiculousness adorns this outing, which is illustrated with Rex's own fanciful comics...This sequel shares the strengths of its predecessor: the loving friendship between Tip and J.Lo, the respect for the absurd, and the social consciences of the teen protagonist and her ET BFF." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review "Light political satire mixes with action, death rays, and time travel, making this book a smart, fun ride." -Booklist "Rex packs his sequel with loads of action and a steady spotlight on friendship...And his humor is, as it was in Smekday, laugh-out-loud funny." -The Horn Book Praise for The True Meaning of Smekday * "First-time novelist Rex has written an imaginative, wacky, hilarious sci-fi story that will appeal to fans of Eoin Colfer and Jon Scieszka. Lively cartoon-paneled illustrations are interspersed throughout and add to the fun. This is a fast-paced adventure with a whip-smart protagonist, a lovable and resourceful extraterrestrial, and plenty of social commentary." -School Library Journal, starred review * "Who knew the end of the world could be so hilarious? Rex's high-octane fantasy could fairly be called an apocalyptic comedy." -Publishers Weekly, starred review * "[G]uaranteed to tickle the middle-school funny bone." -Booklist, starred review

Twenty-First-Century Feminisms in Children's and Adolescent Literature

Twenty-First-Century Feminisms in Children's and Adolescent Literature

Over twenty years after the publication of her groundbreaking work, Waking Sleeping Beauty: Feminist Voices in Children’s Novels, Roberta Seelinger Trites returns to analyze how literature for the young still provides one outlet in which feminists can offer girls an alternative to sexism. Supplementing her previous work in the linguistic turn, Trites employs methodologies from the material turn to demonstrate how feminist thinking has influenced literature for the young in the last two decades. She interrogates how material feminism can expand our understanding of maturation and gender—especially girlhood—as represented in narratives for preadolescents and adolescents. Twenty-First-Century Feminisms in Children’s and Adolescent Literature applies principles behind material feminisms, such as ecofeminism, intersectionality, and the ethics of care, to analyze important feminist thinking that permeates twenty-first-century publishing for youth. The structure moves from examinations of the individual to examinations of the individual in social, environmental, and interpersonal contexts. The book deploys ecofeminism and the posthuman to investigate how embodied individuals interact with the environment and via the extension of feministic ethics how people interact with each other romantically and sexually. Throughout the book, Trites explores issues of identity, gender, race, class, age, and sexuality in a wide range of literature for young readers, such as Kate DiCamillo’s Flora and Ulysses, Jacqueline Woodson’s Brown Girl Dreaming, and Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park. She demonstrates how shifting cultural perceptions of feminism affect what is happening both in publishing for the young and in the academic study of literature for children and adolescents.

Unstoppable

Unstoppable

A read-aloud gem about teamwork and togetherness from New York Times bestselling author Adam Rex! If you could have any superpower, what would it be? Well, what if the answer was: ALL OF THEM! When a bird narrowly escapes the clutches of a hungry cat, a nearby crab admires the bird's ability to fly, while the bird admits a longtime yearning for claws. And, just like that, they team up. Pretty soon, the team includes every animal in the forest who's ever wanted someone else's special trait. But how will these animals stop humans from destroying the forest for a megamall? It's going to take claws, wings, and Congress together to be truly Unstoppable! Laura Park's bright, comic illustrations pair with bestselling author Adam Rex's laugh-out-loud text in this hilarious and insightful picture book about celebrating the ways you're unique, and using all your resourcefulness—and just a smidge of politics—to save the day. • Unstoppable! provides a timely lesson on the glories of diversity and the power of working together. • Perfect read-aloud book for children interested in animals, the environment, and political action For fans of Nothing Rhymes with Orange, Here We Are: Notes for Living on Planet Earth, The Wolf the Duck and The Mouse, and Penguin Problems. • Books for kids ages 3–5 • Read-aloud picture books • Picture books about Congress and government Adam Rex is an author, illustrator, and author-illustrator known for his books including The Dirty Cowboy, School's First Day of School, and The True Meaning of Smekday, which was adapted into the DreamWorks film Home in 2014. He lives in Tucson, Arizona. Laura Park is a cartoonist, illustrator, and enthusiastic baker from Chicago currently living in France.

Happy Holidays--Animated!

A Worldwide Encyclopedia of Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa and New Year's Cartoons on Television and Film

Happy Holidays--Animated!

Since the early 20th century, animated Christmas cartoons have brightened the holiday season around the world—first in theaters, then on television. From devotional portrayals of the Nativity to Santa battling villains and monsters, this encyclopedia catalogs more than 1,800 international Christmas-themed cartoons and others with year-end themes of Hanukkah, Kwanzaa and the New Year. Explore beloved television specials such as A Charlie Brown Christmas, theatrical shorts such as Santa’s Workshop, holiday episodes from animated television series like American Dad! and The Simpsons, feature films like The Nutcracker Prince and obscure productions such as The Insects’ Christmas, along with numerous adaptations and parodies of such classics as A Christmas Carol and Twas the Night before Christmas.

Get Those Guys Reading!

Fiction and Series Books that Boys Will Love

Get Those Guys Reading!

Want to identify fiction books that boys in grades three through nine will find irresistible? This guide reveals dozens of worthwhile recommendations in categories ranging from adventure stories and sports novels to horror, humorous, and science fiction books.

The Art of Home

The Art of Home

Presents an overview of the character designs, background art, and special effects that went into the making of "Home."