The Silent Death

A Gereon Rath Mystery

The Silent Death

THE BASIS FOR THE INTERNATIONAL TV SENSATION BABYLON BERLIN Volker Kutscher, author of the international bestseller Babylon Berlin, continues his Gereon Rath Mystery series with The Silent Death as a police inspector investigates the crime and corruption of a decadent 1930s Berlin in the shadows the growing Nazi movement. March 1930: The film business is in a process of change. Talking films are taking over the silver screen and many a producer, cinema owner, and silent movie star is falling by the wayside. Celebrated actress Betty Winter is hit by a spotlight while filming a talkie. At first it looks like an accident, but Superintendent Gereon Rath findsclues that point to murder. While his colleagues suspect the absconded lighting technician, Rath’s investigations take him in a completely different direction, and he is soon left on his own. Steering clear of his superior who wants him off the case, Rath’s life gets more complicated when his father asks him to help Cologne mayor Konrad Adenauerwith a case of blackmail, and ex-girlfriend Charly tries to renew their relationship—all while tensions between Nazis and Communists escalate to violence.

Sieg Heil - The Silent Death of Democracy Part One

A David Sunrise Adventure

Sieg Heil - The Silent Death of Democracy Part One

This story is part of a series describing the slow, silent, death of democracy. In response to the bitter turmoil over the national anthem I am showing that the founding of this country was done by those who wanted, needed, more freedom than where they have come from. Part of this freedom is the right to not stand if one does not agree with doing so. It is the right not to say the pledge of allegiance if one chooses not to. It is about the fundamental right to stand for what one believes in. I will personally support those who chose not to stand for the anthem and I served in the military for four years. If I had to i would have sacraficed my life to give others the freedom not to stand for the national anthem. It doesn't get simplier than that.

A Silent Death

The brand-new thriller from Number 1 bestseller Peter May

A Silent Death

**THE BRAND-NEW THRILLER FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER** **'A TERRIFIC WRITER' MARK BILLINGHAM** **PETER MAY: OVER 4.5 MILLION COPIES SOLD WORLDWIDE** Set in Southern Spain, A Silent Death is the scorching new thriller from worldwide bestselling author of The Lewis Trilogy, Cast Iron and I'll Keep You Safe. A SILENT VOW Spain, 2020. When expat fugitive Jack Cleland watches his girlfriend die, gunned down in a pursuit involving officer Cristina Sanchez Pradell, he promises to exact his revenge by destroying the policewoman. A SILENT LIFE Cristina's aunt Ana has been deaf-blind for the entirety of her adult life: the victim of a rare condition named Usher Syndrome. Ana is the centre of Cristina's world - and of Cleland's cruel plan. A SILENT DEATH John Mackenzie - an ingenious yet irascible Glaswegian investigator - is seconded to aid the Spanish authorities in their manhunt. He alone can silence Cleland before the fugitive has the last, bloody, word. Peter May's latest bestseller unites a strong, independent Spaniard with a socially inept Scotsman; a senseless vendetta with a sense-deprived victim, and a red-hot Costa Del Sol with an ice-cold killer.

Death in the Silent Places

Death in the Silent Places

From the master of adventure behind the classic Death in the Long Grass, former big-game hunter Peter Hathaway Capstick now turns from his own exploits to those of some of the greatest hunters of the past with Death in the Silent Places. With his characteristic color and flair, Capstick recalls the extraordinary careers of men like Colonel J.H. Patterson and Colonel Jim Corbett, who stalked legendary man-eaters through the silent darkness on opposite sides of the world; men like Karamojo Bell, acknowledged as the greatest elephant hunter of all time; men like the valiant Sasha Siemel, who tracked killer jaguars though the Matto Grosso armed only with a spear. With an authenticity gained by having shared the experiences he writes of, Capstick eloquently recreates the acrid taste of terror in the mouth of a man whose gun has jammed as a lion begins his charge, the exhilaration of tracking and finding a long-sought prey, the bravery and even nobility of performing under circumstances of primitive and savage stress, with death all around in the silent places of the wilderness.

Silent Death

The Killing of Julie Ramage

Silent Death

Journalist Karen Kissane follows the accused into the courtroom, telling the inside story of one of Australia’s most controversial trials and the marriage at its centre. A compelling combination of great writing, true crime and courtroom drama. Julie and Jamie Ramage were the perfect middle-class Australian couple with everything: children at private schools, he a company director and she a financial controller for a fashion house. But Julie walked out of their seemingly perfect marriage. And then, one day, he killed her. Beneath the veneer of perfection there had lain a relationship marred by affairs, obsession and a history of violence. Jamie confessed to the killing - but declared that he had been provoked and therefore not guilty of murder as his wife had driven him over the edge. Jamie's defence of provocation was successful and he is now serving a prison sentence for the lesser crime of manslaughter. The woman he strangled the life from and buried in a shallow grave had no voice in court and no way of telling her story. Silent Death tells Julie's story - but also takes us into the disturbing wider situation - how a killing took place in the comfort and security of a moneyed life; how friends and family either didn't see or think they should be involved. And it is the story of how a court case is about tactics and procedure first - and justice second.

Silent Death

The Threat of Chemical and Biological Terrorism

Silent Death

Accompanied by appendices of specific weapons and terrorist organizations, a fascinating look into the creation and distribution of lethal chemical and biological weapons discusses deployment situations and defense tactics.

Silent Death

Silent Death


Dreams Desires: your dreams only

Dreams Desires: your dreams only

In our dreams are desires that become alive when dreaming. The book Dreams Desires is about deep personal poetry that the author wrote in 2014 totally inspired by his dreams. As he dreamt of the poems he simply put them in writing. The author allows the reader to understand at how his desires became alive in his dreams

The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3)

An Irish crime thriller of danger, death and justice

The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3)

Some say they deserve their fate. But isn't everyone entitled to justice? Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is in a race against time to solve a deadly crime in THE SILENT DEAD, the third novel in Claire McGowan's terrific, hard-hitting crime series. The perfect read for fans of Val McDermid and Elly Griffiths. 'Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying' - Peter James Victim: Male. Mid-thirties. 5'7". Cause of death: Hanging. Initial impression - murder. ID: Mickey Doyle. Suspected terrorist and member of the Mayday Five. The officers at the crime scene know exactly who the victim is. Doyle was one of five suspected bombers who caused the deaths of sixteen people. The remaining four are also missing and when a second body is found, decapitated, it's clear they are being killed by the same methods their victims suffered. Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is assigned the case but she is up against the clock - both personally and professionally. With moral boundaries blurred between victim and perpetrator, will Paula be able to find those responsible? After all, even killers deserve justice... What readers are saying about The Silent Dead: 'Great atmosphere - it's tense and chilling. I simply did not want to put this book down. Superb fast-paced plot and wonderful storytelling' 'A gripping story covering grief and frustration as it explores the moral dilemma of people failed by the system to may just be taking justice into their own hands. A great read' 'Absorbing story that constantly holds your attention. Steady, tense layering, building up to the nerve-wrecking end'