Across The Red Line

Stories From The Surgical Life

Across The Red Line

A doctor and teacher takes readers deep into the heart of a modern hospital, from skillful triumph at the surgical table to the tense "morbidity and mortality" meetings where doctors examine their own mistakes.

The Red Line

The Red Line

WWIII explodes in this electrifying debut military thriller in the tradition of Red Storm Rising and The Third World War. “Delta-Two, I’ve got tanks through the wire! They’re everywhere!” World War III explodes in seconds when a resurgent Russian Empire launches a deadly armored thrust into the heart of Germany. With a powerful blizzard providing cover, Russian tanks thunder down the autobahns while undercover Spetsnaz teams strike at vulnerable command points. Standing against them are the woefully undermanned American forces. What they lack in numbers they make up for in superior weapons and training. But before the sun rises they are on the run across a smoking battlefield crowded with corpses. Any slim hope for victory rests with one unlikely hero. Army Staff Sergeant George O'Neill, a communications specialist, may be able to reestablish links that have been severed by hostile forces, but that will take time. While he works, it’s up to hundreds of individual American soldiers to hold back the enemy flood. There’s one thing that’s certain. The thin line between victory and defeat is also the red line between life and death. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Behind the Red Line

Political Repression in Sudan

Behind the Red Line

Arrest of Church Leaders

Last Stop on the Red Line

Last Stop on the Red Line

Detective Migdalia Torres investigates a vicious strangling on a Boston subway car with no feasible leads. As potential evidence produces dead ends, Migdalia inadvertently takes in a vagrant named Yusef who may have a supernatural connection to the crime at hand. While Yusef's plagued by visions and seemingly false memories, both suspect and detective struggle to discover the identity of the phantom killer that stalks the Boston Metro. This volume collects issues #1-#4 of the futuristic, mind-bending horror story Last Stop on the Red Line, written by Paul Maybury (Aqua Leung), vividly illustrated by Sam Lotfi (Doctor Fate), and beautifully colored by John Rauch (Spider-Man, Venom). Collects Last Stop on the Red Line #1-#4.

The Red Line

A Railway Journey Through the Cold War

The Red Line

The Red Line is the story of a train journey from London to Hong Kong. It is set in 1981, the year Christopher made the first of twenty-four such journeys as a tour guide, when the Cold War was still very much a fact of life. Although China appeared to be on the brink of significant change, no one could know for certain; Poland was stirring but the prospect of change in the USSR and its other allies seemed remote. This made a journey by train across that landscape particularly fascinating, because by using standard, scheduled services that together created one of the longest possible railway routes, one was necessarily immersed in the various countries in ways that otherwise would have been impossible. Equally fascinating were the reactions of Western travelers to finding themselves incarcerated for weeks on end in the eccentric world behind the Iron Curtain.In order to give the journey some coherence, the most memorable events over those years have been condensed into a single journey and the most notable personalities, plucked from various times and places, have been thrown together. To emphasize the fact that these events took place in the recent past, and to be able to show how extraordinarily quickly the world has changed in the few intervening years, the story is told by a narrator. Everything that occurs is true, although some circumstances have been slightly adapted for the sake of fluency and names of individuals have been changed.

Crossing the Red Line

The Struggle for Human Rights in Iran

Crossing the Red Line

This book chronicles the life of a woman in Iran, a leading feminist activist and human rights lawyer, under the monarchical and Islamic regimes. It provides a deep insight into the historical processes of social change, demonstrating the current problems of an uneven world.--[book cover]

The Thin Red Line

The Thin Red Line

'Moves so intensely and inexorably that it almost seems like the war it is describing' The New York Times Book Review 'Is it really worth it to die, to be dead, just to prove to everybody that you're not a coward?' On Guadalcanal in the south Pacific, the soldiers of C Company are about to enter the war. The men know they face their baptism of fire. But none know if they will be one of 'the lucky ones' to make it safely off the island. From Captain Stein, who feels like a father to his troops, and 'Mad' Sergeant Welsh, condemning all nations while swigging gin from his canteen, to Private Bell, who just wants to get home to his wife, they will discover the line that divides sanity from madness, and life from death. A scathing critique of heroism, The Thin Red Line is among the greatest masterpieces of war writing. 'The men are real, the words are real, death is real, imminent and immediate' Los Angeles Times

From Behind the Red Line

A North American Hockey Player in Russia

From Behind the Red Line

Here is a fascinating story of a young Harvard-educated varsity jockey star, who travels to Russia in the dying days of the Soviet Union to play elite league hockey.