The Lost Swimmer

A haunting, razor-sharp thriller that explores the consequences of love and trust

The Lost Swimmer

Sometimes a marriage can be a lonely place ... Rebecca Wilding, an archaeology professor, traces the past for a living. But suddenly, truth and certainty are turning against her. Rebecca is accused of serious fraud, and worse, she suspects - she knows - that her husband, Stephen, is having an affair. Desperate to find answers, Rebecca leaves with Stephen for Greece, Italy and Paris, where she can uncover the conspiracy against her, and hopefully win Stephen back to her side, where he belongs. There's too much at stake - her love, her work, her family. But on the idyllic Amalfi Coast, Stephen goes swimming and doesn't come back. In a swirling daze of panic and fear, Rebecca is dealt with fresh allegations. And with time against her, she must uncover the dark secrets that stand between her and Stephen, and the deceit that has chased her halfway around the world.

Out of the Ice

Out of the Ice

***FROM THE ACCLAIMED AUTHOR OF THE LOST SWIMMER, now in development as a film*** 'A taut and tightly wound page-turner' Marie Claire When environmental scientist Laura Alvarado is sent to a remote Antarctic island to report on an abandoned whaling station, she begins to uncover more than she could ever imagine. On a diving expedition, Laura emerges into an ice cave where she is shocked to see an anguished figure, crying for help. But in this freezing, lonely landscape there are ghosts everywhere, and Laura wonders if her own eyes can be trusted. Has she been in the ice too long? Piecing together a past and present of cruelty and vulnerability that can be traced around the world, from Norway, to Nantucket, Europe and Antarctica, Laura will stop at nothing to unearth the truth. As she comes face to face with the dark side of human progress, she also discovers a legacy of love, hope and the meaning of family. If only Laura can now find her way out of the ice ... Out of the Ice delivers compelling psychological drama for fans of Ruth Ware and Rosamund Lupton. Praise for The Lost Swimmer, now being developed as a film: ‘Ann Turner has produced a vivid, suspenseful thriller that should appeal to those with a taste for armchair travel’ Sydney Morning Herald ‘We had pins and needles trying to unravel the truth throughout Turner’s crisply written, cleverly plotted tale of deceit’ iBooks Editor

Strawberries and Other Short Stories

Strawberries and Other Short Stories

This is another book of various short stories by author Mary Brooks.

Seven-Tenths

The Sea and its Thresholds

Seven-Tenths

Seven-Tenths is James Hamilton-Paterson's classic exploration of the sea. A beautifully-written blend of literature and science, it is here brought back into print in a revised and updated edition which includes the acclaimed essay Sea Burial.

Absolution Gap

Absolution Gap

Alastair Reynolds continues his Revelation Space series with this “first-rate work of science fiction, a thoroughly modern space opera full of dangers and marvels to match”(SF Site). The Inhibitors were designed to eliminate any life form reaching a certain level of intelligence—and they’ve targeted Humanity. War veteran Clavain and a ragtag group of refugees have fled into hiding. Their leadership is faltering, and their situation is growing more desperate. But their little colony has just received an unexpected visitor: an avenging angel with the power to lead mankind to safety—or draw down its darkest enemy. And as she leads them to an apparently insignificant moon light-years away, it begins to dawn on Clavain and his companions that to beat one enemy, it may be necessary to forge an alliance with something much worse...

Dog Lady ; And, The Cuban Swimmer

Two One-act Plays

Dog Lady ; And, The Cuban Swimmer

THE STORIES: In DOG LADY, the setting is a barrio street in Los Angeles, where a young Hispanic woman is in training for a marathon sponsored by a local church. Egged on by a dogged suitor, she is unable to achieve her best until the local curander

The Swimmer

The Story of a Passion

The Swimmer

The Swimmer is one of the very first literary sports novels. Although not a competitive swimmer himself, Mackay was a passionate swimmer and well acquainted with the scene of competitive swimming and diving in Berlin around 1900. This historical picture of the sports world at that time will be familiar to today ́s readers in many ways, but may surprise us in its details, for example, of competitions no longer widely practiced, such as "diving for plates" and "swimming with obstacles." For this reason it is a valuable historical document. It is also an exciting sports story with "the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat." But The Swimmer is much more: it is a fascinating psychological study of the rise and fall of a champion swimmer in his single-minded pursuit of his sport - and fame. Mackay ́s protagonist Franz Felder was "born to swim" and we follow his first, happy dip into the water to his last, fatal plunge. All attention is on young Felder, but other characters are clearly delineated: his wise coach, the equally single-minded sculptor, the seductress from the international demi-monde - last, and alas least, the loyal, devoted fan. The story is told with insight and compassion, as Mackay, the "omniscient narrator," looks into the deepest feelings and motives of his protagonist, whom Mackay ́s biographer has described as "an enchanted beast of the fairy tale books, under whose rough exterior is hidden a prince"-a price who "never found the charm that would have brought out his true character." Mackay makes all of this come alive for us, so that we sympathize with Felder even as we perceive the flaws that bring about his downfall. The book can be read on several levels: as a historical document, a thrilling sports story, a human drama. In every case, it is a good read.