The History of Bees

The History of Bees

***THE NUMBER ONE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER*** ‘Fans of Cloud Atlas and Never Let Me Go will love The History of Bees’ Good Housekeeping ‘Dystopian and electric, this book is set to blow minds everywhere' Stylist 'Haunting and poignant ... an important and wonderful book' Dave Goulson, bestselling author of Bee Quest In the spirit of Station Eleven and Never Let Me Go, this dazzling and ambitious literary debut follows three generations of beekeepers from the past, present, and future, weaving a spellbinding story of their relationship to the bees – and to their children and one another – against the backdrop of an urgent, global crisis. England, 1851. William is a biologist and seed merchant, who sets out to build a new type of beehive—one that will give both him and his children honour and fame. United States, 2007. George is a beekeeper and fights an uphill battle against modern farming, but hopes that his son can be their salvation. China, 2098. Tao hand paints pollen onto the fruit trees now that the bees have long since disappeared. When Tao’s young son is taken away by the authorities after a tragic accident—and is kept in the dark about his whereabouts and condition—she sets out on a grueling journey to find out what happened to him. Haunting, illuminating, and deftly written, The History of Bees joins these three very different narratives into one gripping and thought provoking story that is just as much about the powerful relationships between children and parents as it is about our very relationship to nature and humanity. ‘Haunting and poignant … an important and wonderful book’ Dave Goulson, author of Bee Quest ‘Spectacular and deeply moving. Lunde has elegantly woven together a tale of science and science fiction, dystopia and hope, and the trials of the individual and the strengths of family’ Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author ‘Such is the genius of debut novelist Maja Lunde that her tale of three eras—the long past, the tenuous present and the biologically damned future—is strung on the fragile hope of the survival of bees’ Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author ‘As a lover of honeybees and a fan of speculative fiction, I was doubly smitten by THE HISTORY OF BEES. Maja Lunde’s novel is an urgent reminder of how much our survival depends on those remarkable insects. It is also a gripping account of how—despite the cruelest losses—humanity may abide and individual families can heal’ Jean Hegland, author of Into the Forest ‘By turns devastating and hopeful, The History of Bees resonates powerfully with our most pressing environmental concerns. Following three separate but interconnected timelines, Lunde shows us the past, the present, and a terrifying future in a riveting story as complex as a honeycomb’Bryn Greenwood, New York Times bestselling author ‘Here is a story that is sweeping in scope but intimate in detail’ Laura McBride, author of We Are Called to Rise

The Natural History of Bees

Comprehending the Uses and Economical Management of the British and Foreign Honey-bee; Together with the Known Wild Species. Illustrated by Thirty-six [i.e. Thirty-two] Plates Coloured from Nature, with Portrait and Memoir of Huber

The Natural History of Bees


A Short History of the Honey Bee

Humans, Flowers, and Bees in the Eternal Chase for Honey

A Short History of the Honey Bee

Looks at the life cycle of honeybees, their funcion, and their impact on the environment, along with information on beekeeping and the collection of honey.

The Bee Book

The History and Natural History of the Honeybee

The Bee Book


The Feminine Monarchy

Or the History of Bees (1623)

The Feminine Monarchy

This Is A New Release Of The Original 1623 Edition.

The World History of Beekeeping and Honey Hunting

The World History of Beekeeping and Honey Hunting

This is the first book to explore in detail the world history of humankind's use of bees from prehistoric times to the present day. Both rock art and recent field studies have shown how honey hunters obtained their harvest from bees' nests. Honey has always been the chief prize, but bee brood has been eaten as meat, and beeswax has been utilized in many technologies. Bees, honey, and wax have special symbolic significance in both early beliefs and later world religions. But perhaps bees' greatest benefit has been their pollination of crops.

Wisdom of the Bees

Wisdom of the Bees


Buzz

The Nature and Necessity of Bees

Buzz

As seen on PBS's American Spring LIVE, the award-winning author of The Triumph of Seeds and Feathers presents a natural and cultural history of bees: the buzzing wee beasties that make the world go round. Bees are like oxygen: ubiquitous, essential, and, for the most part, unseen. While we might overlook them, they lie at the heart of relationships that bind the human and natural worlds. In Buzz, the beloved Thor Hanson takes us on a journey that begins 125 million years ago, when a wasp first dared to feed pollen to its young. From honeybees and bumbles to lesser-known diggers, miners, leafcutters, and masons, bees have long been central to our harvests, our mythologies, and our very existence. They've given us sweetness and light, the beauty of flowers, and as much as a third of the foodstuffs we eat. And, alarmingly, they are at risk of disappearing. As informative and enchanting as the waggle dance of a honeybee, Buzz shows us why all bees are wonders to celebrate and protect. Read this book and you'll never overlook them again.

The Social Behavior of the Bees

A Comparative Study

The Social Behavior of the Bees

Melittological background; Comparative social behavior; Natural history.