The Escape Artist

The Escape Artist

When eight-year-old Anna finally convinced her mother to adopt a cat, she had no idea how all their lives were about to change. After the events of a Halloween night gone horribly wrong, her teenage brother and friends find themselves at the center of a mystery that could endanger all their lives. A teenage boy is the focal point of a conspiracy still very much unknown. Not knowing anything about his past or even where he is from, he must learn to control himself, his emotions, and his cool in a completely unfamiliar setting and with a new home and family. Through many trials and tribulations, with his life in danger at every turn, and being the target of the school bully, he learns to love and to appreciate the gift of family and friends. Join Kevin and his friends in this story of friendship, courage, and adventure—a story that’s sure to please readers of all ages.

J.D. Salinger

The Escape Artist

J.D. Salinger

A personal inquiry into the near-mythic life and canonical work of the late author of The Catcher in the Rye draws on in-depth interviews to discuss his Park Avenue childhood, work with the New Yorker and decision to live in isolation. 10,000 first printing.

The Escape Artist

The Escape Artist

A luminous family memoir from the author of the critically acclaimed Boston Globe bestseller, After Long Silence, lauded as “mesmerizing” (The Washington Post Book World), “extraordinary” (The Philadelphia Inquirer), and “a triumphant work of art” (Publishers Weekly, starred review). In the tradition of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home or George Hodgman’s Bettyville, Fremont writes with wit and candor about growing up in a household held together by a powerful glue: secrets. Her parents, profoundly affected by their memories of the Holocaust, pass on, to both Helen and her older sister, a penchant for keeping their lives neatly, even obsessively compartmentalized, and a zealous determination to protect themselves from what they see as danger from the outside world. She delves deeply into the family dynamic that produced such a startling devotion to secret keeping, beginning with the painful and unexpected discovery that she has been disinherited in her mother’s will. In scenes that are frank, moving, and often surprisingly funny, Fremont writes about growing up in such an intemperate household, with parents who pretended to be Catholics but were really Jews—survivors of Nazi-occupied Poland. She shares tales of family therapy sessions, disordered eating, her sister’s frequently unhinged meltdowns, and her own romantic misadventures as she tries to sort out her sexual identity. In a family devoted to hiding the truth, Fremont learns the truth is the one thing that can set you free. Scorching, witty, and ultimately redemptive, The Escape Artist is a powerful contribution to the memoir shelf.

The Escape Artist

The Escape Artist


Captivating the Escape Artist

Captivating the Escape Artist

CAPTIVATING THE ESCAPE ARTIST is a modern day tale that explores same sex relationships. A gypsy boy from Algiers meets an aspiring composer-musician in San Francisco. In unseemly settings, they share lively conversations about ant etiquette, rude idioms, and a satirical history of mankind. Their two histories span childhood discoveries, the insecurities of teenagers, highs and lows of substance abuse, and the miracles of recovery. Told with self-effacing heart and humor, the two characters mature, showing a capacitiy for loving and sharing each other in a world worth living in - yes, a world scarred with war, but also filled with magic and wonder.

The Escape Artist

The Escape Artist

Claire was held captive for 43 days by a man who did unspeakable things to her. Three years after her escape, she gets her revenge. The only problem is, she's got the wrong man. God help her if he escapes.

The Escape Artist

The Escape Artist

When a Jewish diamond dealer visits 1910s Poland looking for a wife, the parents of Sofia Teitelbaum jump at the opportunity to marry her off, but on arrival in Buenos Aires, Sofia is put to work as a prostitute for the dealer's sister.

The Escape Artist

The Escape Artist

Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo, 2007: Robin Monarch is on a mission to gain possession of a politically sensitive object. Securing the target is child's play for Monarch, but exiting the jungle alive will pose a far greater challenge . . . Buenos Aires, 1987: An eighteen-year-old Robin Monarch has begun to question the dark direction the Brotherhood of Thieves is taking. As such, there is only one path he can now take: voice his objection, and - by doing so - risk his life. ROGUE GENESIS is a collection of two short stories (INCURSION and RENDITION) and one novella (THE ESCAPE ARTIST) introducing Robin Monarch - CIA agent, expert thief, and star of the explosive international thriller ROGUE.

Sherlock Holmes and The Escape Artist

Sherlock Holmes and The Escape Artist

Do Spirits Return? Sherlock Holmes, Mary Watson, and Harry Houdini say ‘No’ and prove it.

The Escape Artist

Life from the Saddle

The Escape Artist

For a time there were four bikes in Matt Seaton's life, a training bike, a track bike, a mountain bike and a racing bike. His evenings were spent doing the miles on the roads between South London and the North Downs. Weekends were taken up with Club meetings, road races and time trials - rides that took him to cold village halls at dawn and out onto the empty bypasses of Southern England.