The Dressmaker s Daughter

The story of the Dressmakers Daughter involves three families, the Lovlaces, the Walters and the Henlys.

The Dressmaker s Daughter

The story of the Dressmakers Daughter involves three families, the Lovlaces, the Walters and the Henlys. It is a time of change and the town in which they live is having to learn to live with industrialisation. The coming of the railways has brought with it certain undesirable elements who cause havoc when let loose on the streets. At one time Mrs Lovelace and Mrs Walters were best friends, but a misunderstanding has come between them and it is up to their children, Flora and Enryk to sort the matter out.Unfortunately, Flora takes a disliking to Enryk and the path is not easy for either of them.

The Dressmaker s Daughter

This book is a memoir of author and poet Kate Llewellyn's childhood and part of her adulthood.

The Dressmaker s Daughter

This book is a memoir of author and poet Kate Llewellyn's childhood and part of her adulthood.

The Dressmaker s Daughter

Prepare to be swept away by this enthralling story of love, war and one woman who survived them both...

The Dressmaker   s Daughter

Prepare to be swept away by this enthralling story of love, war and one woman who survived them both...

The Dressmaker

And in that moment Lilian convinced herself that she had indeed done everything
she could have done for Emmeline Dornay's child. She had given her shelter, fed
and clothed her and encouraged her skills as a dressmaker. And perhaps ...

The Dressmaker

Can the rags of her life be sewn into riches? Benita Brown's The Dressmaker is the unforgettable saga of an abandoned young woman learning to stand on her own two feet. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Lindsey Hutchinson. Emmeline Dornay's dying wish is for her daughter Melissa to have a home. But when the funeral is over, Melissa discovers that her future looks bleak. Wealthy Lilian Winterton will honour her promise and put a roof over Melissa's head, but only if she can earn her keep. As an unpaid seamstress in the grand Winterton household, Melissa is ignored by the family and mistrusted by their servants. And when scandal occurs and the blame lands unfairly at her feet, she is thrown on to the streets. Left with nothing but her needle and thread, Melissa finds her dreams are in tatters. But can the rags of her life be sewn into riches...? What readers are saying about The Dressmaker: 'Really enjoyed every moment of this book - it's a story of love, loss and friendship, with a good story line and great characters' 'For anyone who enjoys a Catherine Cookson novel this book is an absolute must. I have read all of Benita Brown's novels and find her style of writing engaging with good plots and characters' 'Five stars'

The Dayspring

probably have to support us all , and four The young girl who made this cruel , is
a large family to be cared for by one so selfish speech , part of which was over
young . But , as I told you before , dear , heard by the dressmaker ' s daughter ,
was ...

The Dayspring


A Dressmaker s Threads

Bill, Mimi's daughter Phyllis and Blossom's son Robert. Each grandchild has
displayed a ferocious love for his or her children: Sue for Rebecca; Bill and
Martha for Lori, Bobby and Jerry; Phyllis for Garreth, Kyla and Zach; and Bobby
for Lesley, ...

A Dressmaker   s Threads

“A Dressmaker’s Threads: The Life and The Legacy of My Russian Immigrant Mother” is about a remarkable woman, a dressmaker who, with a sick husband and an infant, escaped from the Czar’s Armies, landing at Ellis Island in 1920. Her courage, her fearlessness, her work ethic, her sense of humor and her love for education drove her to 18-hour workdays and success. To her “success” meant having the ability to take care of her sick husband (before the days of medical insurance) and sending her three daughters to college. She did it all with grace and joy, reveling in her children’s progress, learning English with an accent she could never forgive in herself, and enjoying life to its fullest. Her legacy lives on in her children, grandchildren, and even the great-grandchildren who never knew her.

Miss Priscilla Hunter and My Daughter Susan

There are a great many duties which take time , and planning , and trouble . Can't
you go down town with me ? mother is to be engaged with the dressmaker , and
the morning is lovely for a walk . " As this was precisely what I wanted ; namely ...

Miss Priscilla Hunter  and My Daughter Susan


The Dressmaker

garnet and emerald castles from the copper molds (Connie's most valuable
kitchen possession) but mother and daughter worked in concert, and Ellen, by
her concentration, earned her mother's proud smile. “There! How nice they look.

The Dressmaker

From international bestselling author Posie Graeme-Evans comes the passionate tale of a woman ahead of her time. Ellen Gowan is the only surviving child of a scholarly village minister and a charming girl disowned by her family when she married for love. Growing up in rural Norfolk, Ellen’s childhood was poor but blessed with affection. Resilience, spirit, and one great talent will carry her far from such humble beginnings. In time, she will become the witty, celebrated, and very beautiful Madame Ellen, dressmaker to the nobility of England, the Great Six Hundred. Yet Ellen has secrets. At fifteen she falls for Raoul de Valentin, the dangerous descendant of French aristocrats. Raoul marries Ellen for her brilliance as a designer but abandons his wife when she becomes pregnant. Determined that she and her daughter will survive, Ellen begins her long climb to success. Toiling first in a clothing sweat shop, she later opens her own salon in fashionable Berkeley Square though she tells the world – and her daughter - she’s a widow. One single dress, a ballgown created for the enigmatic Countess of Hawksmoor, the leader of London society, transforms Ellen’s fortunes, and as the years pass, business thrives. But then Raoul de Valentin returns and threatens to destroy all that Ellen has achieved. In The Dressmaker, the romance of Jane Austen, the social commentary of Charles Dickens and the very contemporary voice of Posie Graeme-Evans combine to plunge the reader deep into the opulent, sinister world of teeming Victorian England. And if the beautiful Madame Ellen is not quite what she seems, the strength of her will sees her through to the truth, and love, at last.

Robert Wreford s Daughter

And so Catherine talked on , always about the garments and dresses that were to
be manipulated . ... It would , indeed , be a sad piece of extravagance to put them
out when I can make them myself better than any dressmaker I know of .

Robert Wreford s Daughter


Father and Daughter

The Carnegie Course posed obvious threats to two of the other social work
courses, in Child Care and Mental Health, ... the Department's staff both for her
class background – her father was a brass finisher and her mother a dress-maker
and ...

Father and Daughter

Father and daughter provides an unique ‘insider perspective’ on two key figures in twentieth-century British social science. Ann Oakley, a highly respected sociologist and best-selling writer, draws on her own life and that of her father, Richard Titmuss, a well-known policy analyst and defender of the welfare state, to offer an absorbing view of the connections between private lives and public work. Using an innovative mix of biography, autobiography, intellectual history, archives, and personal interviews, some of which have not been previously available to the public, she provides a compelling narrative about gender, patriarchy, methodology, and the politics of memory and identity. This fascinating analysis defies the usual social science publications to offer a truly distinctive account which will be of wide interest.