Spunk & Bite

Spunk & Bite

Today's writer needs more than just a solid knowledge of usage and composition to write successfully. Bestselling author Arthur Plotnik reveals the secrets to attention-grabbing, unforgettable writing, in this trade paperback edition. Updated with all-new writing exercises, Spunk & Bite will help writers take books, articles, business reports, memos, and even e-mail messages to the next level.

Word Up! How to Write Powerful Sentences and Paragraphs

(And Everything You Build from Them)

Word Up! How to Write Powerful Sentences and Paragraphs

Want to know how to write more powerfully? You've come to the right book. Word Up!—an eclectic collection of essays, more inspiration guide than style guide—serves up tips and insights for anyone who wants to know how to write with umph. Word Up! does what too few writing books do: it practices while preaching, shows while telling, uses powerful writing to talk about powerful writing. Word Up! explores the perplexities and celebrates the pleasures of the English language. It leaves you smiling—and ready to conquer your next blank (or blah) page.

Aging Gracefully with Dignity, Integrity & Spunk Intact: Aging Defiantly: Including Ten Tips to Keep People Off Your Back

Aging Gracefully with Dignity, Integrity & Spunk Intact: Aging Defiantly: Including Ten Tips to Keep People Off Your Back

The "Golden Rule" not withstanding the catastrophe of 9-11, the world has been thrown into chaos. Here, upon the shores of U.S. America, have the people experienced the certain effects of this chaos: *Constitutional Rights curtailed *Religious Freedom maligned *Economic instability realized *Overall Health Care eroded *Public Education jeopardized Mr. Jackson's follows the footprint of his earlier work, takes a close up look at the weavings leading up to the present condition experienced in the world. It presents this close-up expose through a blend of poetry and frank discourse. Its unique viewpoint is set around the concerns of U.S America's Black population and the American Dream. Presently, the prevailing spirit has made it difficult for the Spirit of Truth to reside, to intercede. We award accolades and we garner congratulatory wreaths where might we should urge patience and exercise humility. Thus, have we slid into an era of

The Elements of Expression

Putting Thoughts into Words

The Elements of Expression

More than ever in this completely updated edition, The Elements of Expression helps word users "light up the cosmos or the written page or the face across the table" as they seek the radiance of expressiveness—the vivid expression of thoughts, feelings, and observations. Nothing kills radiance like the murky, generic language dominating today's talk, airwaves, and posts. It tugs at our every sentence, but using it to express anything beyond the ordinary is like flapping the tongue to escape gravity. The Elements of Expression offers an adventurous and inspiring flight into words that truly share what's percolating in our minds. Here writers, presenters, students, bloggers—even well intentioned "Mad Men"—will discover language to convey precise feelings, move audiences, delight and persuade. No snob or scold, the acclaimed word-maven Arthur Plotnik explores the full range of expressiveness, from playful "tough talk" to finely wrought literature, with hundreds of rousing examples. Confessing that we are all "like a squid in its ink" when first groping for luminous expression, he shines his amiable wit on the elements leading, ultimately, to language of "fissionable intensity."

Some Girls Bite

A Chicagoland Vampires Novel

Some Girls Bite

The First Chicagoland Vampires Novel They killed me. They healed me. They changed me. Sure, the life of a graduate student wasn’t exactly glamorous, but I was doing fine until Chicago’s vampires announced their existence to the world. When a rogue vampire attacked me, I was lucky he only got a sip. Another bloodsucker scared him off and decided the best way to save my life was to make me the walking undead. Now I’ve traded sweating over my thesis for learning to fit in at a Hyde Park mansion full of vamps loyal to Ethan “Lord o’ the Manor” Sullivan. Of course, as a tall, green-eyed, four-hundred-year-old vampire, he has centuries’ worth of charm, but unfortunately he expects my gratitude—and servitude. Right… But someone’s out to get me. Is it the rogue vampire who bit me? A vamp from a rival House? An angry mob bearing torches? My initiation into Chicago’s nightlife may be the first skirmish in a war—and there will be blood.

Nice Girls Don't Bite Their Neighbors

Nice Girls Don't Bite Their Neighbors

The fourth book in the sexy, “hilariously fun,” (Romantic Times“Top Pick”) romantic comedy series about a children’s librarian turned vampire—perfect for fans of Katie Macalister and MaryJanice Davidson. WITH THIS RING, I THEE DEAD... Just as Jane Jameson’s unlife seems to be stabilizing, fate sinks its fangs firmly into her butt. Despite her near-phobia of wedding planning, her no-frills nighttime nuptials to her sexy boyfriend, Gabriel, are coming along smoothly. That is, until she turns a fatally wounded teenage acquaintance, and the Council pronounces her responsible for the newborn vamp until he can control his thirst. Jane’s kitchen barely holds enough Faux Type O to satiate the cute teen’s appetite and maintain Gabriel’s jealous streak at a slow simmer. As if keeping her hyperactive childe from sucking the blood out of the entire neighborhood isn’t enough to deal with, the persnickety ghost of Jane’s newly deceased grandma Ruthie has declared war on the fanged residents of River Oaks. Suddenly choosing monogrammed cocktail napkins and a cake she can’t even eat seem downright relaxing in comparison. Tensions inside the house are growing…and outside, a sinister force is aiming a stake straight for the center of Gabriel’s heart. Most brides just have to worry about choosing the right dress, but Jane fears that at this rate, she’ll never make it down the aisle for the wedding all nice girls dream of…

Biting Cold

Biting Cold

Turned into a vampire against her will, twenty-eight-year-old Merit found her way into the dark circle of Chicago’s vampire underground, where she learned there was more to supernaturals than met the eye—and more supernaturals than the public ever imagined. And not all the secrets she learned were for sharing—among humans or inhumans. Now Merit is on the hunt, charging across the stark American Midwest, tailing a rogue supernatural intent on stealing an ancient artifact that could unleash catastrophic evil on the world. But Merit is also the prey. An enemy of Chicagoland is hunting her, and he’ll stop at nothing to get the book for himself. No mercy allowed. No rules apply. No lives spared. The race is on.

The Rachel Papers

The Rachel Papers

Charles Highway is every mother’s worst nightmare. Precociously intelligent, mercilessly manipulative and highly sexed, Charles devotes the last of his teenage years to bedding girls and evading the half-arsed overtures of his distant parents. That is, until, he meets the aloof, wildly unattainable, Rachel. As Charles’s twentieth birthday – and the Oxford entrance exams – loom, his plans for seducing Rachel will draw him into a private collection of obsessional notes and observations: the eponymous ‘Rachel Papers’. WINNER OF THE SOMERSET MAUGHAM AWARD 'Scurrilous, shameless and very funny' The Times Literary Supplement ‘Amis has brought off the feat of satirizing his contemporaries while making them both funny and, in a bizarre way, moving’ Peter Ackroyd

The Lusty Man

The Lusty Man

Terry Griggs' first novel is a comic extravaganza of life in an island community. It is also about the lake surrounding that island, about water itself. The events of the novel are weirdly refracted. This is the story of a christening, a portrait of a community, a story of a quest - the search for the Lusty Man, an iron-age Celtic fertility figure transported to these shores in the nineteenth century, which presides over the novel's loving, quarrelling, and begetting. The story revolves around members of the Stink family who live in unwholesome closeness at the clan home in Stinkville, Belchie Township, and in satellite mobile homes. Chet Stink plays Jingle Bells by hitting diverse portions of his skull with a wrench; Tennessee Ernie Stink practices fire-swallowing with a BBQ-starter and a marshmallow on a toasting-fork; the entire pack is reputed to live on road-kill. Into these lives and through them drift angels, ghosts, and an androgynous school teacher whose subversive methodology renders intriguing consequences. The Lusty Man is a novel experience indeed. It is rather like watching the frozen activity of a Hieronymus Bosch painting or seeing a Breugel explode into manic life.

Better Than Great

A Plenitudinous Compendium of Wallopingly Fresh Superlatives

Better Than Great

Deft praise encourages others to feel as we do, share our enthusiasms. In this "age of awesome," our words and phrases of acclaim are exhausted, all but impotent. Arthur Plotnik is proffering a well knit wellspring of worthy and wondrous words to rescue our worn-down usage. --from publisher description