Simone Manuel

Swimming Star

Simone Manuel

Simone Manuel is one of the country's best female athletes. Learn about her childhood, the challenges she has overcome, and this swimmer's greatest accomplishments. Get the inside scoop on gold-medal-winning Olympic appearance.

Simone Manuel

Simone Manuel

This title introduces readers to Simone Manuel, providing exciting details about her life and going deep inside the key moments of her swimming career. The title also features informative "fast facts," a timeline, and a glossary. SportsZone is an imprint of Abdo Publishing Company.

Heart of a Champion

True Stories of Character and Faith from Today’s Most Inspiring Athletes

Heart of a Champion

Inside the Heart of Every Champion Lies Character Winning at sports and life takes more than just talent and hard work. It takes faith, courage, and above all, character. Celebrate the qualities that turn today's top athletes into role models in this inspiring collection of sports stories. Each story showcases a different athlete and explores one key character trait that has distinguished their successful career. Learn more about the superstars of sport, such as NBA All-Star Stephen Curry, Olympic gold-medalist Simone Manuel, NFL Super Bowl champion Russell Wilson, and many more! Champions aren't born. They are made by living with integrity and purpose. You can be a champion in life too!

Catalog of Copyright Entries. Third Series

1951

Catalog of Copyright Entries. Third Series

Includes Part 1A: Books and Part 1B: Pamphlets, Serials and Contributions to Periodicals

Losers Bracket

Losers Bracket

A provocative and heart-wrenching novel about family, loss, and loyalty from acclaimed and bestselling author Chris Crutcher. Losers Bracket is the powerful and gripping new novel by the author of Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes and Whale Talk. When it comes to family, Annie is in the losers bracket. While her foster parents are great (mostly), her birth family would not have been her first pick. And no matter how many times Annie tries to write them out of her life, she always gets sucked back into their drama. Love is like that. But when a family argument breaks out at Annie’s swim meet and her nephew goes missing, Annie might be the only one who can get him back. With help from her friends, her foster brother, and her social service worker, Annie puts the pieces of the puzzle together, determined to find her nephew and finally get him into a safe home. Award-winning author Chris Crutcher’s books are strikingly authentic and unflinchingly honest. Losers Bracket is by turns gripping, heartbreaking, hopeful, and devastating, and hits the sweet spot for fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp.

The Golden Girls of Rio

The Golden Girls of Rio

The women athletes of the 2016 Summer Olympics captivated the world: Simon Biles, the most decorated American gymnast of all time; Katie Ledecky, who shattered swimming records in multiple events; Michelle Carter, the first American gold medalist in shot put; Simone Manuel, the first African American woman to medal in individual swimming. Their accomplishments amazed us, as did their personal stories of persistence and hard work. The Golden Girls of Rio focuses on the paths to glory for these women athletes, how they got their start and rose to meteoric heights in the Rio games. The other swimming and gymnastic teammates are included in the story as well. An inspiring story, bursting with color and action and life, that will make you smile to see these champion athletes as little girls, and to revisit their triumphs in achieving Olympic gold.