Secret Gardens of East Anglia

Secret Gardens of East Anglia

The big skies and the extraordinary light of East Anglia make it unlike anywhere else in Britain, and offer the most amazing natural conditions in which to create gardens. The twenty-two gardens selected for Secret Gardens of East Anglia celebrate the culture, beauty and diversity of the counties of Suffolk, Norfolk, Cambridgeshire and Essex, and all deserve to be better known. Introduced by eminent East Anglian plantswoman and national treasure Beth Chatto, the gardens appearing on these pages are brought to life by the award-winning author and photographer team of Barbara Segall and Marcus Harpur. From each garden we can learn about the creator’s style, their talent for exploiting the genius loci, and the specific challenges and rewards they have encountered. Featured gardens include: -COLUMBINE HALL A moated garden with a series of green rooms -HELMINGHAM HALL GARDENS A gem of a garden hidden in its own moated island -KIRTLING TOWER A field of daffodils for a Tudor gatehouse -RAVENINGHAM HALL Exquisite planting in the RHS president’s private garden -THE MANOR HOUSE, FENSTANTON Garden rooms on Capability Brown’s private estate - ULTING WICK Thousands of tulips against a backdrop of black wooden barns -WINTERTON LIGHTHOUSE A lush yet restrained garden framing a lighthouse -WYKEN HALL Vines and roses around an Elizabethan manor house.

The English Country House Garden

The English Country House Garden

'This book will inspire and delight … the stories of these gardens so compellingly captured by George Plumptre make the reader stop and tarry awhile, marvelling at the energy, the vision and the passion of the people who created gardens such as Hidcote, Sissinghurst and Great Dixter.' (The English Garden) 'A feast of horticulture and Englishness.' (House & Garden) 'Tells the tale of the English Country House Gardens over the past 500 years expertly and informatively.' (Countryside Magazine) 'Sure to become a classic.' (Garden Design Journal) Gardening Book of the Year 2014 (Daily Telegraph) Revised and updated edition. There is something special about the English country house garden: from its quiet verdant lawns to its high yew hedges, this is a style much-desired and copied around the world. The English country house is most often conceived as a private, intimate place, a getaway from working life. A pergola, a sundial, a croquet lawn, a herbaceous border of soft planting; here is a space to wander and relax, to share secrets, and above all to enjoy afternoon tea. But even the most peaceful of gardens also take passion and hard work to create. This new book takes a fresh look at the English country house garden, starting with the owners and the stories behind the making of the gardens. Glorious photographs capture the gardens at their finest moments through the seasons, and a sparkling and erudite text presents twenty-five gardens - some grand, some personal, some celebrated, some never-before-photographed - to explore why this garden style has been so very enduring and influential. From the Victorian grandeur of Tyntesfield and Cragside, to the Arts & Crafts simplicity of Rodmarton Manor and Charleston; from Scampston, in the same family since the 17th century, to new gardens by Dan Pearson and Tom Stuart-Smith; and with favourites such as Hidcote and Great Dixter alongside new discoveries, this book will be a delicious treat for garden-lovers.

The Hidden Places of East Anglia

Including Essex, Suffolk, Norfolk and Cambridgeshire

The Hidden Places of East Anglia

This is the 7th edition of the Hidden Place of Anglia, one of the Hidden Places most popular titles and will be printed in full colour. The East Anglian counties offer plenty for the visitor to explore in real Hidden Places country. Norfolk is famous for the Norfolk Broads but has a rich and interesting past, gentle hills as well as expansive horizons, delightful pastoral scenes, a beautiful coastline rich in wildlife and many interesting hidden places to visit. Suffolk was made famous by the brush of John Constable and is blessed with incomparable rural beauty, which encompasses wide-open spaces broken by gentle hills and tidal rivers meandering from a coastline teeming with birdlife. Essex contains England's oldest recorded town (Colchester) has a strong maritime tradition, pretty villages, a coastline with attractive estuaries and a rich history going back to Roman times. Cambridgeshire is famous for its ancient university and being the birthplace of Oliver Cromwell and Samuel Pepys but offers a wealth of peaceful and attractive countryside with many towns and villages steeped in history, which are truly "hidden places." The book is packed with information and coloured photographs covering the more secluded and little known venues for food, accommodation and places of interest as well as the more enduring attractions of the region.

The Countryside Ideal

Anglo-American Images of Landscape

The Countryside Ideal

`God made the country, man made the town.' William Cowper's words, written two centuries ago, underline an idealisation of rural life and landscape which persists to this day. What are the main historical processes and ideas underlying the continuing attachment to the countryside? How have these shaped popular values and lifestyles influenced artistic expression, defined attitudes to nature, country life and 8andscape, and affected the development of both rural and urban landscapes? What are the consequences for society and the environment? These are the central questions addressed in this book. The Countryside Ideal draws together diverse images of landscape to explore this preoccupation with place, culture and representation in the West.

Slow Norfolk and Suffolk

Slow Norfolk and Suffolk

Laurence Mitchell, long-time resident of Norfolk, invites travellers to the region to take a leisurely sojourn around both the well known sights and off-the-beaten track secrets in a personal tour that takes in the coast and villages, remote marshes, beaches, shingle banks, towns and cities of Norfolk and Suffolk. Conservation projects, boat trips, cycle and walking tours, wildlife and bird watching and distinctive vernacular architecture are just some of the attractions which Laurence describes in his distinctive voice, as well as all the practical details you need for an easy relaxing break. What's more, the unique accommodation descriptions from Alastair Sawday mean that you can be sure of a truly 'slow' visit.

The Secret Years

An emotional drama of love and survival

The Secret Years

An epic novel of a great house and the love that consumed it... Judith Lennox's The Secret Years is a moving story about life in the East Anglian Fens after the First World War. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton. During the golden summer of 1914, four young people played in the gardens of Drakesden Abbey. Nicholas and Lally were the children of the great house, set in the bleak and magical Fen country; Thomasine was the unconventional niece of two genteel maiden aunts in the village; Daniel was the son of the local blacksmith, a fiercely independent, ambitious boy who longed to break away from the stifling confines of his East Anglian upbringing. As the drums of war sounded in the distance, the Firedrake, a mysterious and ancient Blythe family heirloom disappeared, setting off an uncontrollable chain of events. The Great War changed everything, and both Nicholas and Daniel returned from the front damaged by their experiences. Thomasine, freed from the narrow disciplines of her childhood, and enjoying the new hedonism which the twenties brought, thought that she could escape from the ties that bound her to both Nicholas and Daniel. But the passions and enmities of their youth had intensified in the passing years, and the four friends had to experience tragedy and betrayal before the Firedrake made its reappearance and, with it, a new hope for the future. What readers are saying about The Secret Years: 'Judith Lennox writes wonderful stories which are compelling and beautifully descriptive' 'What a page turner -a twisty turny tale!' 'A wonderfully written story... Couldn't put this book down'

Secret Waters

A Guide to the Quiet and Unspoilt Rivers, Lakes and Canals of Britain and Ireland

Secret Waters

The author shares his experiences exploring small British waterways and describes points of interest along each route

Art of the Garden

The Garden in British Art, 1800 to the Present Day

Art of the Garden

England has long been known as a land of gardeners. Today this is more true than ever, with gardening cited as the country's most popular leisure activity. From the grand designs of Capability Brown to the humble cottage garden, from the painterly experiments of Gertrude Jekyll to the pragmatic urban allotment, viewing, digging, designing and appreciating gardens is central to our national psyche. British gardens, whether historic or contemporary, have been a rich source of inspiration for artists. Works featured in Art of the Garden span three centuries and range in media from traditional watercolours and oils to digitally enhanced photography and installation. Turner, Constable, Freud, Hume, Quinn: a trajectory of artists is traced, all of whom have returned to the garden and explored it in their individual way. A section is also devoted to artists' gardens, including Patrick Heron's Eagles Nest in Cornwall, Derek Jarman's Prospect Cottage at Dungeness and lan Hamilton Finlay's Little Sparta near Edinburgh.