Canine and Feline Behavior and Training: A Complete Guide to Understanding our Two Best Friends

Canine and Feline Behavior and Training: A Complete Guide to Understanding our Two Best Friends

This book provides a comprehensive overview of the most critical components of a successful human-animal relationship, and provides a framework to understand the behavior, communication patterns, and learning techniques that govern social interactions. Well-researched and accessible, Canine and Feline Behavior: A Complete Guide to Understanding Our Two Best Friends is an application-based resource to encourage effective training and behavior modification programs for both dogs and cats. Coverage begins with a foundation of evolutionary histories and domestication, focusing on normal communication and social behavior patterns. Learning theory is then presented in the context of real-world relevance to companion animal care, behavior prevention, training, and modification. Finally, common behavior problems and approaches to manage these issues are discussed, making this an essential resource for anyone seeking to understand more about their dogs and cats. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

Puppy Pirates Super Special #1: Ghost Ship

Puppy Pirates Super Special #1: Ghost Ship

Fans of PAW Patrol and Rainbow Magic and those looking for Halloween chapter books will want to climb aboard this PUPPY PIRATES SUPER SPECIAL! Ahoy, mateys! Set sail for fun and adventure on a pirate ship full of puppies! Boo! When Wally is pranked by a couple of pugs, they accuse him of being more puppy than pirate. How can Wally prove he’s as fearless as the rest? Spending the night on an abandoned pirate ship should do the trick! But when Wally and his human friend, Henry, climb aboard, they soon discover the ship might not be so empty after all. . . . This super edition features exciting content like: - How to Draw a Puppy Pirate! - Puzzles! - Instructions for how to play the "Puppy Pirates vs. Kitten Pirates" game! And don't miss the other adventures of the Puppy Pirates! From the Trade Paperback edition.

Puppy Pirates #6: Pug vs. Pug

Puppy Pirates #6: Pug vs. Pug

Ahoy, mateys! Set sail for fun and adventure on a pirate ship full of puppies. It’s pug-o’-war! Piggly and Puggly are usually too busy playing pranks to argue. But when the puppy pirates get stranded on a cold, rainy island, the twin sisters can’t agree on anything. Wally and the others are forced to choose sides in an all-out pug showdown! Which pug’s team will win this dogfight and survive the night? Two perennial kid favorites—dogs and pirates—combine in this chapter book series perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic, Jake and the Neverland Pirates, and Paw Patrol.

Puppy Pirates #3: Catnapped!

Puppy Pirates #3: Catnapped!

Ahoy, mateys! Set sail for fun and adventure on a pirate ship full of puppies. Fighting like cats and dogs? Exactly! The puppy pirates played a prank on the kitten pirates, and meow! The kittens sure are mad. Can the pups escape the kittens’ claws? It’s dog vs. cat, and may the best pirates win. Two perennial kid favorites—dogs and pirates—combine in the new chapter book series perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic, Jake and the Neverland Pirates, and Paw Patrol.

Behavior: A Guide For Practitioners, An Issue of Veterinary Clinics of North America: Small Animal Practice,

Behavior: A Guide For Practitioners, An Issue of Veterinary Clinics of North America: Small Animal Practice,

This issue acts as a guide to behavior in dogs and cats for practitioners. Topics include: genetics and behavior of cats and dogs, the effects of stress on small animal health and behavior, canine agression towards family members or visitors, common sense small animal behaviour modification, small animal behavior triage, abnormal reptitive behaviors, feline agression towards family members, cat fights, and more.

Small Animal Pediatrics - E-Book

The First 12 Months of Life

Small Animal Pediatrics - E-Book

A practical reference for the general veterinary clinician, Small Animal Pediatrics: The First 12 Months of Life compiles into a single location the latest information in the rapidly developing field of canine and feline pediatrics. Editors Michael Peterson, DVM, MS, and Michelle Kutzler, DVM, PhD, DACT are joined by more than 40 expert contributors in providing coverage from prenatal care to one year of age. For ease of use, the text is divided into four sections. A General Considerations section opens the book by covering prenatal care of the bitch and queen, birth, normal physical examinations, growth, husbandry, nutrition, care of orphans, neonatal mortality, behavior, emergency and critical care, and immunology. The second section, Common Infectious Diseases, covers bacterial, viral, fungal, rickettsial, and parasitic infections. The third section describes diagnostic and therapeutic approaches to the young patient including radiology, ultrasound, aesthetic and surgical considerations, pain management, pharmacology, and clinical pathology. Finally, the fourth section covers a variety of organ systems with discussions on normal development, congenital conditions, and acquired diseases. The text also includes information that is usually difficult to find, including a pediatric formulary, care of orphan puppies, clinical pathology values, prenatal care, and normal growth and development guidelines. This book will be a significant asset to any veterinary library! Offers a practical, clinically oriented resource for the unique diagnostic and treatment challenges posed by pediatric and juvenile animal patients. Includes comprehensive coverage of all special problems encountered in pet management from birth through the first 12 months of life. Provides clear, step-by-step guidelines for important clinical procedures and techniques for the most vulnerable of small animal patients. Covers procedures such as intraosseous catheterization and fluid therapy, venipuncture, and tube feeding. Includes guidelines for designing and implementing a successful pediatric wellness program tailored to your own practice. Discusses infectious diseases in young animals, zoonotic potential, and human public health concerns. Provides key new information on puppy and kitten behavioral development including guidance for prevention and intervention for problem behaviors, the leading cause of pet euthanasia. Includes guidelines for kennel and cattery health management as well as shelter medicine health considerations. Discusses controversial health and ethical issues in veterinary pediatrics, such as ear cropping, tail docking, declawing, and early spay/neuter surgery (including both pro and con positions). Includes the latest recommendations for nutritional care of healthy and "special needs" puppies and kittens as well as the post-parturient and nursing dam. Offers an easy-to-use, well-organized format for quick and easy access to the most relevant information.

Cognitive Grammar

A Basic Introduction

Cognitive Grammar

This book fills a long standing need for a basic introduction to Cognitive Grammar that is current, authoritative, comprehensive, and approachable. It presents a synthesis that draws together and refines the descriptive and theoretical notions developed in this framework over the course of three decades. In a unified manner, it accommodates both the conceptual and the social-interactive basis of linguistic structure, as well as the need for both functional explanation and explicit structural description. Starting with the fundamentals, essential aspects of the theory are systematically laid out with concrete illustrations and careful discussion of their rationale. Among the topics surveyed are conceptual semantics, grammatical classes, grammatical constructions, the lexicon-grammar continuum characterized as assemblies of symbolic structures (form-meaning pairings), and the usage-based account of productivity, restrictions, and well-formedness. The theory's central claim - that grammar is inherently meaningful - is thereby shown to be viable. The framework is further elucidated through application to nominal structure, clause structure, and complex sentences. These are examined in broad perspective, with exemplification from English and numerous other languages. In line with the theory's general principles, they are discussed not only in terms of their structural characterization, but also their conceptual value and functional motivation. Other matters explored include discourse, the temporal dimension of language structure, and what grammar reveals about cognitive processes and the construction of our mental world.

VS.

VS.