New York 2020 Mini Wall Calendar

New York 2020 Mini Wall Calendar

Art calendar featuring full-color photos Monthly grid calendars indicate US national holidays Ample space for writing down appointments and special occasions 8.5 in square when closed

New York City 2020 Calendar

New York City 2020 Calendar

Art calendar featuring full-color photos Monthly grid calendars indicate US national holidays Ample space for writing down appointments and special occasions 11 x 17 in. when open

Chase's Calendar of Events 2019

The Ultimate Go-to Guide for Special Days, Weeks and Months

Chase's Calendar of Events 2019

Since 1957, Chase's Calendar of Events lists everything worth knowing and celebrating for each day of the year: 12,500 holidays, historical milestones, famous birthdays, festivals, sporting events and much more. "The Oxford English Dictionary of holidays."--NPR's Planet Money.

AFRICOBRA

Experimental Art toward a School of Thought

AFRICOBRA

Formed on the South Side of Chicago in 1968 at the height of the civil rights, Black power, and Black arts movements, the AFRICOBRA collective created a new artistic visual language rooted in the culture of Chicago's Black neighborhoods. The collective's aesthetics, especially the use of vibrant color, capture the rhythmic dynamism of Black culture and social life. In AFRICOBRA, painter, photographer, and collective cofounder Wadsworth A. Jarrell tells the definitive story of the group's creation, history, and artistic and political principles. From accounts of the painting of the groundbreaking Wall of Respect mural and conversations among group members to documentation of AFRICOBRA's exhibits in Chicago, New York, and Boston, Jarrell outlines how the collective challenged white conceptions of art by developing an artistic philosophy and approach wholly divested of Western practices. Featuring nearly one hundred color images of artworks, exhibition ephemera, and photographs, this book is at once a sourcebook history of AFRICOBRA and the story of visionary artists who rejected the white art establishment in order to create uplifting art for all Black people.

Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2019

Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2019

This bestselling guide to all areas of publishing and the media is completely revised and updated every year. The Yearbook is packed with advice, inspiration and practical guidance on who to contact and how to get published. Foreword by Joanne Harris, bestselling author of 18 novels, including Chocolat New articles in the 2019 edition include: Ruby Tandoh Writing a cookbook Andrew McMillan How to become a poet Claire North Writing speculative fiction Frances Jessop Writing about sport Jane Robinson Writing non-fiction Tony Bradman A successful writing career James Peak Should I make an audio book? Wyl Menmuir Debut success Alice Jolly Crowdfunding your novel Andrew Lownie Submitting non-fiction Lynette Owen UK copyright law All articles are reviewed and updated every year. Key articles on Copyright Law, Tax, Publishing Agreements, E-publishing, Publishing news and trends are fully updated. Plus over 4,000 listings entries on who to contact and how across the media and publishing worlds In short it is 'Full of useful stuff' - J.K. Rowling

The Routledge Companion to Interdisciplinary Studies in Singing, Volume II: Education

The Routledge Companion to Interdisciplinary Studies in Singing, Volume II: Education

The Routledge Companion to Interdisciplinary Studies in Singing, Volume II: Education examines the many methods and motivations for vocal pedagogy, promoting singing not just as an art form arising from the musical instrument found within every individual but also as a means of communication with social, psychological, and didactic functions. Presenting research from myriad fields of study beyond music—including psychology, education, sociology, computer science, linguistics, physiology, and neuroscience—the contributors address singing in three parts: Learning to Sing Naturally Formal Teaching of Singing Using Singing to Teach In 2009, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada funded a seven-year major collaborative research initiative known as Advancing Interdisciplinary Research in Singing (AIRS). Together, global researchers from a broad range of disciplines addressed three challenging questions: How does singing develop in every human being? How should singing be taught and used to teach? How does singing impact wellbeing? Across three volumes, The Routledge Companion to Interdisciplinary Studies in Singing consolidates the findings of each of these three questions, defining the current state of theory and research in the field. Volume II: Education focuses on the second question and offers an invaluable resource for anyone who identifies as a singer, wishes to become a singer, works with singers, or is interested in the application of singing for the purposes of education.

Contemporary Museum Architecture and Design

Theory and Practice of Place

Contemporary Museum Architecture and Design

Contemporary Museum Architecture and Design showcases 18 diverse essays written by people who design, work in, and study museums, offering a variety of perspectives on this complex building type. Throughout, the authors emphasize new kinds of experiences that museum architecture helps create, connecting ideas about design at various levels of analysis, from thinking about how the building sits in the city to exploring the details of technology. With sections focusing on museums as architectural icons, community engagement through design, the role of gallery spaces in the experience of museums, disability experiences, and sustainable design for museums, the collected chapters cover topics both familiar and fresh to those interested in museum architecture. Featuring over 150 color illustrations, this book celebrates successful museum architecture while the critical analysis sheds light on important issues to consider in museum design. Written by an international range of museum administrators, architects, and researchers this collection is an essential resource for understanding the social impacts of museum architecture and design for professionals, students, and museum-lovers alike.

The Wall in the Middle of the Book

The Wall in the Middle of the Book

A foolish knight is certain that his side of the wall is the safe side in this clever, amusingly meta picture book by the acclaimed creator of It's Only Stanley There's a wall in the middle of the book, and our hero--a young knight--is sure that the wall protects his side of the book from the dangers of the other side--like an angry tiger and giant rhino, and worst of all, an ogre who would gobble him up in a second! But our knight doesn't seem to notice the crocodile and growing sea of water that are emerging on his side. When he's almost over his head and calling for help, who will come to his rescue? An individual who isn't as dangerous as the knight thought--from a side of the book that might just have some positive things to offer after all!

JR: The Chronicles of New York City

JR: The Chronicles of New York City

TED Prize winner, Oscar nominee, and one of Time's 100 most influential people of 2018, JR is a contemporary art superstar. In 2018, over one thousand New Yorkers posed for the camera and told their stories at JR's mobile photo studio and JR compiled their portraits into an astounding photographic mural—a portrait of the city—for the Brooklyn Museum. This book features both the final mural and every individual photo, as well as a selection of compelling stories and a behind-the-scenes look at how this incredible work was made. • This art piece captures the essence of an iconic city in words and images • Includes a removable poster that showcases the entire mural • Features a foreword by Darren Walker and an artist's statement • Beautiful on the coffee table or in a photo book collection Fans of Humans of New York, Jason Polan's Every Person in New York, and Banksy's Wall and Piece will love this book. This book is perfect for: • Fans of the artist JR • Anyone who loves New York City • Photographers, both established and aspiring • Lovers of contemporary art, black and white photography, and site-specific art projects

Chihuly Garden Installations

Chihuly Garden Installations

Features the artist's glass sculptures from "The Garden Cycle" exhibition that were displayed in prominent conservatories and gardens around the world.