Near Death in the Desert

Near Death in the Desert

“The night was heavy with foreboding. The rain, which had been spitting down on us during the late afternoon, grew heavier. It hurled into our faces, borne by a wind that was now gusting between the dunes at full force. . . . It was the worst storm we had encountered and Ned was out in it alone.” —Justin Marozzi, South from BarbaryCecil Kuhne's newest anthology gathers the best adventure stories from the world's most barren landscapes. Ranging from 19th-century explorers to modern-day journalists, these desert trekkers deal with everything from deserting men, corrupt armed soldiers, and Nigerian bush taxis to suspicious natives, stubborn camels, and debilitating sunburn. These thirteen tales are more than suspenseful; they also show how life can survive in the most punishing climates.Also featuring: Robyn Davidson's Desert Places-Robyn Davidson follows the Rubari people across the Thar as she tries to adapt to a difficult-but fascinating-way of life. Michael Asher's Two Against the Sahara-Newlyweds embark upon a nine-month, 4500-mile journey across the world's largest desert, traveling from Morocco to Sudan. Bayle St. John's Adventure in the Libyan Desert-In 1847, a team of four trek deep into Libya in search of an oasis. But what they find is even more astounding… From the Trade Paperback edition.

Black Ops: Death in the Desert

Black Ops: Death in the Desert

The high-octane, adrenalin-fuelled military adventure series for boys who want heroes with real guts. ‘Let’s give ‘em something to think about!’ Another day; another mission. Now a fully-fledged member of covert military squad Delta Unit, Mitch is thrust straight back into the battle zone. And there’s more at stake than ever before. The mission: smuggle an undercover peace negotiator through war-torn Afghanistan to the secret hideout of a powerful Taliban warlord. The squad: elite, Black-Ops soldiers – Mitch, Two Moons, Gaz, Tug, Benny and Nelson – codename, Delta Unit. Six men start out on the mission. But how many will come back? Perfect for fans of Andy McNab, Chris Ryan and Robert Muchamore, books for teens don’t come more explosive than Jim Eldridge’s Black Ops.

Research News

Research News


Gods in the Desert

Religions of the Ancient Near East

Gods in the Desert

Gods in the Desert explores the fascinating religious cultures of the ancient Near East. From the mysterious pyramids, tombs, and temples of Egypt to the powerful heroes, gods, and legends of Mesopotamia, Glenn Holland guides readers through the early religions that are the root of many of today's major faiths. Holland compares the religions of ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia, and Syria-Palestine, including Israel and Judah, from the Neolithic era through the conquest of Alexander the Great. He provides a historical survey of each region, then discusses the gods, the rulers, the afterlife, and the worship rituals. This accessible overview makes clear how these religions converged and diverged, and are intimately connected to many of the religions we recognize today, sometimes in surprising ways.

Selections from the Oakland Tribune Archives

Selections from the Oakland Tribune Archives

The landmark Oakland Tribune clock tower has been telling the time in neon in downtown Oakland since it was built in 1923, but the paper itself first appeared on city streets as early as 1874. For over a half century, the paper was owned and published by the influential and civic-minded Knowland family, who spearheaded efforts to modernize the Port of Oakland, construct the San Francisco Oakland Bay Bridge, and establish a regional park system for Alameda and Contra Costa Counties. Following the Loma Prieta earthquake, the damaged clock tower on Thirteenth Streetwhere Harry Houdini once hung by his heels above gawking crowds on Broadwaywas sadly vacant, but today it is once again busy with the buzz and bustle of the newsroom.

Conscious Capitalism, With a New Preface by the Authors

Liberating the Heroic Spirit of Business

Conscious Capitalism, With a New Preface by the Authors

The bestselling book, now with a new preface by the authors At once a bold defense and reimagining of capitalism and a blueprint for a new system for doing business, Conscious Capitalism is for anyone hoping to build a more cooperative, humane, and positive future. Whole Foods Market cofounder John Mackey and professor and Conscious Capitalism, Inc. cofounder Raj Sisodia argue that both business and capitalism are inherently good, and they use some of today’s best-known and most successful companies to illustrate their point. From Southwest Airlines, UPS, and Tata to Costco, Panera, Google, the Container Store, and Amazon, today’s organizations are creating value for all stakeholders—including customers, employees, suppliers, investors, society, and the environment. Read this book and you’ll better understand how four specific tenets—higher purpose, stakeholder integration, conscious leadership, and conscious culture and management—can help build strong businesses, move capitalism closer to its highest potential, and foster a more positive environment for all of us.

Implementing Value Pricing

A Radical Business Model for Professional Firms

Implementing Value Pricing

Praise for IMPLEMENTING VALUE PRICING A Radical Business Model for Professional Firms "Ron Baker is the most prolific and best writer when it comes to pricing services. This is a must-read for executives and partners in small to large firms. Ron provides the basics, the advanced ideas, the workbooks, the case studies—everything. This is a must-have and a terrific book." —Reed K. Holden founder and CEO, Holden Advisors, Corp., Associate Professor, Columbia University www.holdenadvisors.com "We've known through Ron Baker's earlier books that he's not just an extraordinary thinker and truly brilliant writer—he's a mover and a shaker on a mission. This is the End of Time! Brilliant." —Paul Dunn Chairman, B1G1® www.b1g1.com "Implementing Value Pricing is a powerful blend of theory, strategy, and tactics. Ron Baker's most recent offering is ambitious in scope, exploring topics that include economic theory, customer orientation, value identification, service positioning, and pricing strategy. He weaves all of them together seamlessly, and includes numerous examples to illustrate his primary points. I have applied the knowledge I've gained from his body of work, and the benefits to me—and to my customers—have been immediate, significant, and ongoing." —Brent Uren Principal, Valuation & Business Modeling Ernst & Young® www.ey.com "Ron Baker is a revolutionary. He is on a radical crusade to align the interests of service providers with those of their customers by having lawyers, accountants, and consultants charge based on the value they provide, rather than the effort it takes. Implementing Value Pricing is a manifesto that establishes a clear case for the revolution. It provides detailed guidance that includes not only strategies and tactics, but key predictive indicators for success. It is richly illustrated by the successes of firms that have embraced value-based pricing to make their services not only more cost-effective for their customers, but more profitable as well. The hallmark of a manifesto is an unyielding sense of purpose and a call to action. Let the revolution begin." —Robert G. Cross, Chairman and CEO, Revenue Analytics, Inc. Author, Revenue Management: Hard-Core Tactics for Market Domination

Written in Blood

Written in Blood

Set in the harsh desert world of the Arizona Territory and northern Mexico during the 1870s, Written in Blood, the first installment of the Desert Legends Trilogy, follows young Jim Doolen as he attempts to find some trace of the father who abandoned his family ten years earlier. As he travels through a scorched landscape very different from the lush West Coast forests of his home, Jim crosses paths with an assortment of intriguing characters, including an Apache warrior, a cave-dwelling mystic, an old Mexican revolutionary and a mysterious cowboy. And with each encounter he learns something more of the strange world he has entered and adds one more link in a chain that leads back to his father-and back to a dark, violent past. As his story approaches its thrilling conclusion in a ruined Mexican hacienda, Jim comes to realize that his father's life was much more complex than he had imagined, and that, in discovering his past, he has opened the way to his future.

Reza War and Peace

A Photographer's Journey

Reza War and Peace

Reza trains his lens not just on war and conflict, but also on friendship and loyalty, family life and love. The book follows Reza's photographic career and is narrated in his own words, focusing our attention on the costs of war and the human condition.

The Role of Death in the Ladder of Divine Ascent and the Greek Ascetic Tradition

The Role of Death in the Ladder of Divine Ascent and the Greek Ascetic Tradition

The Ladder of Divine Ascent, the work of an otherwise shadowy figure, John Climacus (meaning of the Ladder), abbot of St. Catherine's, Sinai (ca. 579-649 CE), is one of the most popular and enduring classics of Greek ascetic spiritual direction. Hailed as the great synthesis of early ascetic writings, the Ladder presents a spirituality self-consciously rooted in the literary and theological tradition of the Desert Fathers and the Great Old Men of Gaza. Despite its incredible popularity among monastic and lay readers, the Ladder is virtually unknown in scholarship. In this work, Jonathan L. Zecher offers a sustained study of the Ladder's spiritual vision, which is contextualized within an equally sustained genealogical survey of Climacus' own tradition. The Ladder is built up through the 'memory of death', a term referring to admonitions of early authors to remember one's inevitable but unknowable death and to contemplate the divine judgment which would follow to cultivate particular ascetic, Christian, lifestyles in their readers. In the literature that formed Climacus, every aspect of the 'memory of death' varied considerably, but Climacus draws these together in the Ladder so that death and the judgment which follows defines a symbolic framework within which monks reflect on their past and approach the future. Climacus also took up metaphorical practices of dying to oneself and others to craft an idea of spiritual progress in the imitation of Christ taking into account failure and frailty. At the heart of this study is the abiding question of how tradition forms, and in the Ladder is an outstanding example of how unflinching fidelity to tradition results in a creative, synthetic achievement.