My First Word Book

My First Word Book

270 familiar words with themes that include numbers, animals, on the farm, the body, things that go and bedtime.

Biscuit's Day at the Farm

Biscuit's Day at the Farm

For fans of Clifford and Spot, welcome everybody’s favorite little yellow puppy, Biscuit, in an I Can Read adventure! Woof, woof! Come along, Biscuit! Join Biscuit at the farm. Biscuit is going to help out on the farm today and can’t wait to feed all of the farm animals. He makes friends with the hens, the geese, and even an eager little piglet who wants to follow him everywhere! Biscuit’s Day at the Farm, a My First I Can Read book, is carefully crafted using basic language, word repetition, sight words, and sweet illustrations—which means it's perfect for shared reading with emergent readers.

Welcome to Kristy's Farm: Book I (Black and White Version)

Welcome to Kristy's Farm: Book I (Black and White Version)

"Welcome to Kristy's Farm" is a series of reading books which can be used to teach reading to young children in any public, private, or Christian school. Created by a Montessori educator with 38 years of success in teaching reading, this series is ideal for teaching reading to preschoolers, kindergarteners, first graders, and English as a second language students.

Betting the Farm on a Drought

Stories from the Front Lines of Climate Change

Betting the Farm on a Drought

Climate change has become one of the most polarizing issues of our time. Extremists on the left regularly issue hyperbolic jeremiads about the impending destruction of the environment, while extremists on the right counter with crass, tortured denials. But out in the vast middle are ordinary people dealing with stronger storms and more intense droughts than they’ve ever known. This middle ground is the focus of Betting the Farm on a Drought, a lively, thought-provoking book that lays out the whole story of climate change—the science, the math, and most importantly, the human stories of people fighting both the climate and their own deeply held beliefs to find creative solutions to a host of environmental challenges. Seamus McGraw takes us on a trip along America’s culturally fractured back roads and listens to farmers and ranchers and fishermen, many of them people who are not ideologically, politically, or in some cases even religiously inclined to believe in man-made global climate change. He shows us how they are already being affected and the risks they are already taking on a personal level to deal with extreme weather and its very real consequences for their livelihoods. McGraw also speaks to scientists and policymakers who are trying to harness that most renewable of American resources, a sense of hope and self-reliance that remains strong in the face of daunting challenges. By bringing these voices together, Betting the Farm on a Drought ultimately becomes a model for how we all might have a pragmatic, reasoned conversation about our changing climate.

My First Words

My First Words

Relaunch of DK's My First series Encourage talking and build vocabulary with this fun first word-and-picture book! My First Words features 17 spreads of objects illustrating first familiar words. Clear word labels accompany each image. Spreads include: All about me/My Body, Around the house, Food, In the bathroom, In the kitchen, In the garden, In the garage, Animals, Shopping, Things that go, On the farm, Seashore, Toys, Shapes, Feelings.

My Big Farm Book

My Big Farm Book

This is the perfect book for kids who want to find out all about farms. On the big, sturdy board pages, they'll discover bright, bold photographs of all kind of things they'll see down on the farm, from animals, to crops to farm vehicles. Each has their name written underneath, so that children can learn what they're called, build their farm vocabulary, and start to develop word and picture association.

How To Restore Your Farm Tractor

How To Restore Your Farm Tractor

"Detailed step-by-step guidebook to restoring all types of vintage farm tractors"--

The Bird Book

Alma's Story

The Bird Book

There was only the bird book to tell her story. She left it as unfinished as her life seemed to be. The question of who she was led me to begin searching for the answers. Years ago I should have started searching while she was still alive; however, I did not really know about her until it was too late. I refused to have her life and legacy forgotten, and yet I was so slow in acting. I suppose there are those who would say that I should not invade the territory of one who is already gone. However, it has always been in me to find out the answers, and so for that reason, Alma’s story must be told. She left her story in phrases she composed. She left her story in the pieces of artwork she created. She left her story in the memories of those who knew her.

Animal Farm

Animal Farm

The animals of Manor Farm have revolted and taken over. Upon the death of Old Major, pigs Snowball and Napoleon lead a revolt against Mr. Jones, driving him from the farm. The animals embrace the Seven Commandments of Animalism and life carries on, but they learn that a farm ruled by animals looks more human than ever. HarperPerennial Classics brings great works of literature to life in digital format, upholding the highest standards in ebook production and celebrating reading in all its forms. Look for more titles in the HarperPerennial Classics collection to build your digital library.

Beltaro, the Book of Izra

Beltaro, the Book of Izra

not provided