Lost in Dreams

Lost in Dreams

Join eighteen-year-old Kim Hartlinger, as she arrives home from a life-changing mission trip to a remote Mexican village. This second novel in a new series for teen girls will challenge your faith—and capture your heart—as you journey with Kim through the biggest struggle of her life and faith.

PUERTO RICO: Land of Lost Dreams

Politics, Religion, and the ''Rican'' Way

PUERTO RICO: Land of Lost Dreams

Based on a true story of one mans journey living over 14 years in Puerto Rico. Details his life, his loves, his struggles with the Puerto Rican government, and the Puerto Rican police, as the society of the island falls into an abyss. He copes with living in an island that is called in the Caribbean, the ''island of enchantment'', but in the end, becomes the ''island of sudden fear'', as his love for the island, and its people turns into his lost dream.

The Mill of Lost Dreams

A Novel

The Mill of Lost Dreams

Between 1870 and 1900, twelve million people immigrated to America. Hundreds of thousands of them came to work in the textile mills of Fall River, Massachusetts. The Mill of Lost Dreams is a story of love, friendship and sacrifice that provides an inside view into the world of textile mills and the daily life of seven courageous souls who leave home and risk everything for their shared dream of a better life: Angelina and Guido Wallabee, who have left their family’s failed farm in Italy; eleven-year-old Miranda Alysworth and her fifteen-year-old brother, Francois, who have escaped from indentured service in Canada; twins Phoebe and Charlie Dougherty, the children of Irish immigrant parents, who, though not yet thirteen, are forced to work in Troy Mill to support their family after their father’s untimely death; and eleven-year-old, Anne Kenny, an orphan who’s never known where she came from. All but one take jobs in Troy Mill in Fall River. Over the course of seven decades, there are marriages, births, secrets exposed, friendships tested, and innocence lost. Some succeed in making a new life away from harm but pay a terrible price. Many cannot build the life they dreamed of and the consequences impact and shape the lives of their children—and their children’s children.

The God of Small Things

A Saga of Lost Dreams

The God of Small Things

The God Of Small Things : A Saga Of Lost Dreams Is An Attempt To Make An In-Depth Study Of Arundhati Roy S Epoch Making Novel Which Has Brought Laurels To Her And The Country At Large. To Begin With, An Effort Is Made To Have A Close Look At The Main Theme Of The Novel. This Is Followed By An Analysis Of The Main Characters Who Have Their Own Story To Tell. The Novel Is Also Considered As A Critique Of The Contemporary Society. Essays On The Structure Of The Novel And The Narrative Technique Adopted Follow And The Significance Of The Title Is Also Discussed In A Separate Chapter. The Epilogue Considers The Autobiographical Elements In The Novel. The Title Of The Book Becomes Significant As All The Characters, Both Major And Minor Have Shattered Dreams. Even Ayemenem And Ayemenem House Have Lost Their Old Glory And In A Certain Sense Have Lost Their Dreams. Rev. John Ipe S Father Is The Oldest Member Of The Ayemenem Family Who Makes His Appearance In The Novel. Then We Have John Ipe Himself And His Wife Aleyooty Ammachi Both Disappointed For One Reason Or The Other. Baby Kochamma, Pappachi, Mammachi, Chacko, Margaret Kochamma, Ammu, Estha, Rahel, Sophie Mol, Velutha, Vellya Paapen Have All A Similar Kind Of Existence In The Novel. The Book, It Is Hoped, Will Be Of Immense Help To The Students Who Pursue Research On Roy And, Of Course, To The Academic Community At Large.

Literary Lost

Viewing Television Through the Lens of Literature

Literary Lost

From the moment that Watership Down made its appearance on screen in season one, speculation about Lost's literary allusions has played an important role in the larger discussion of the show. Fans and critics alike have noted the many references, from biblical passages and children's stories to science fiction and classic novels. Literary Lost teases out the critical significance of these featured books, demonstrating how literature has served to enhance the meaning of the show. It provides a fuller understanding of Lost and reveals how television can be used as a tool for stimulating a deeper interest in literary texts. The first chapter features an exhaustive list of "Lost books," including the show's predecessor texts. Subsequent chapters are arranged thematically, covering topics from free will and the nature of time to parenthood and group dynamics. From Lewis Carroll's creations, which appear as recurring images and themes throughout, to Slaughterhouse-Five's lessons on the nature of time, Literary Lost will help readers unravel the show's novelistic plot while celebrating its astonishing layers and nuances of text.

Lost Dreams

Lost Dreams

This book is a collection of artistic photographic images of classic cars. These images are of older classic cars left and forgotten in junkyards, backyards and in the woods. Lost Dreams shows the beauty that still lives in these rusted and forgotten gems.

Lost Dreams

Lost Dreams

When her mother dies, Laura Morrison is forced to give up her place at univerity to care for her father and her young brother Ronnie. She dreams of escape from the unending housework that now fills her days. But worse is to come. When her father decides to re-marry and to leave Scotland behind, he has no place in his new life for them. Laura has to find a way to support them both. How is she to manage? With no qualifications, she can expect only a poorly paid job. Fergus Cunninhgam is the answer to Laura's prayer, she thinks. A successful lawyer, he needs someone to care for three-year-old Sylvia. But he cannot give her security. As a housekeeper, Laura is in danger of dismissal the moment that Mr Cunningham decides to marry his glamorous girlfriend. And must she give up all her own dreams? The Dundee Courier called this book 'an unforgettable story of love and heartache.'

Lost Dreams Restored

Lost Dreams Restored

While spending forty-two years in the Nursing Profession, I learned that writing my thoughts and feelings was therapeutic. I filled many nurses notes and thus my two novels, Living, Love, and Power and now Lost Dreams Restored. Both novels came from a deep need within my being: the first to know my God on a deeper level and the second novel, to explore these holy or unholy bonds of matrimony! Come with us through our heroine's journey. Can you identify with her? Is your marriage or life all you would like it to be? Would you long to have your Lost Dreams Restored?

The Lost History of Dreams

A Novel

The Lost History of Dreams

A post-mortem photographer unearths dark secrets from the past that may hold the key to his future in this “sensual, twisting gothic tale…in the tradition of A.S. Byatt’s Possession, Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale, and Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights” (BookPage). All love stories are ghost stories in disguise. “This one happily succeeds at both” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). When famed Byronesque poet Hugh de Bonne is discovered dead in his bath one morning, his cousin Robert Highstead, a post-mortem photographer, is charged with a simple task: transport Hugh’s remains for burial in a chapel. This chapel, a stained-glass folly set on the moors, was built by de Bonne sixteen years earlier to house the remains of his beloved wife and muse, Ada. Since then, the chapel has been locked and abandoned, a pilgrimage site for the rabid fans of de Bonne’s last book, The Lost History of Dreams. However, Ada’s grief-stricken niece refuses to open the glass chapel for Robert unless he agrees to her bargain: before he can lay Hugh to rest, Robert must record Isabelle’s story of Ada and Hugh’s ill-fated marriage over the course of five nights. As the mystery of Ada and Hugh’s relationship unfolds, so too does the secret behind Robert’s own marriage—including that of his fragile wife, Sida, who has not been the same since a tragic accident three years earlier and the origins of his morbid profession that has him seeing things he shouldn’t...things from beyond the grave. Blurring the line between the past and the present, truth and fiction, and ultimately, life and death, The Lost History of Dreams is “a surrealist, haunting tale of suspense where every prediction turns out to be merely a step toward a bigger reveal” (Booklist).

Nightmares and Lost Dreams

Nightmares and Lost Dreams

This is my poetry book. This book is over 20 years of my life. These are my favorites of over 500 poems. Poetry is my escape and I share my escape with you. I write about my life, about everyday events and about world events. This book is my journal, my deepest thoughts. If you understand this poetry then you understand me.