Learn How to Cook the Way Grandma Did

Learn how to bake sourdough bread and cakes, culture vegetables, kefir, cheese, nut and seed cheese and brew probiotic ginger beer beverages.

Learn How to Cook the Way Grandma Did

LEARN HOW TO COOK THE WAY GRANDMA DID Traditional recipes in the spirit of Dr Weston A Price and Sally Fallon Surprise your friends and family: Now you can learn how to bake sourdough bread and cakes - culture real sauerkraut and get all of its protective benefits - turn store-bought milk into nutritious kefir - culture simple cheese, and nut and seed cheese - brew lacto-fermented probiotic rich beverages such as wheatgrass ginger beer and real beer... Why shell out hard earned money on expensive probiotic supplements when you can brew your own? Get more information at www.rejoiceinlife.com.

Breaking Bread

Recipes and Stories from Immigrant Kitchens

Breaking Bread

"Lynne Anderson's portraits of recent immigrant families capture a crucial truth about how real food connects us to our culture, our memories, and to one another. This is an important book." —Alice Waters, Chez Panisse Restaurant "Everyone loves talking about food. In this remarkable book, Lynne Anderson lets recent immigrants to America speak in their own words about the foods they most loved from their homelands. Her cook-storytellers use recipes for cherished foods as a way to recall childhood memories, the events that caused them to emigrate, and their efforts to assimilate—the bitter along with the sweet. For a delicious introduction to the immigrant experience in America, I can't think of a better starting point than Breaking Bread." —Marion Nestle, author of What to Eat and Food Politics "Good ol' home cooking that's not chicken and apple pie. A feast of stories and flavors." Amy Tan, author of The Joy Luck Club and the Bone Setter's Daughter "What's so lovely to me about this book is hearing the actual voices of the people and the unpredictable way their conversations about food capture life issues and truths that extend far beyond the kitchen. More than ever it seems critical to be finding and celebrating what we have in common and the connections between people."—Nikki Silva, co-author of Hidden Kitchens: Stories, Recipes, and More from NPR's The Kitchen Sisters "Breaking Bread throws open a delightful window on the immigrant kitchen in America, capturing the voices, traditions and--yes!--recipes of a couple dozen different food cultures in a single volume." —Michael Pollan, author of The Omnivore's Dilemma and In Defense of Food "In 25 deeply moving first-person accounts from a wide range of immigrant families, each one sensitively introduced by the author, Lynne Anderson takes us straight to the heart of our common humanity. Sharing food and stories are what bind us all across differences in time, space culture, gender and identity. Apart from being an important cultural document, Breaking Bread is a rich, wisdom-packed experience for the scholar, for the casual reader and for all cooks who demand more than just recipes."—Niloufer Ichaporia King, author of My Bombay Kitchen

Mi' Taku'ye-Oyasin

The Native American Holocaust

Mi' Taku'ye-Oyasin

Author Barbara Nixon, along with her co-author Marlette Thunder Horse, tells the world of the plight of the Native Americans, particularly of those in Wounded Knee, South Dakota. MiTakuye-Oyasin (The Native American Holocaust) Volumes 1 & 2. The stories contained within the books pages are true. They are actual depictions of facts and known instances that are either documented in history or of current events, some having made it to the news. This compilation of letters, historical facts, personal knowledge, and eyewitness accounts have been placed together to construct a full and extensive written and pictorial analysis of how the Native American Indian has been slated for extinction, cunningly by their own hands, divided and conquered cleverly orchestrated by the United States federal government.

Who Are Those People and Why Did I Wave to Them?

Who Are Those People and Why Did I Wave to Them?

Who Are Those People and Why Did I Wave to Them? This is just one of the many questions Rebecca Wambo Cooper explores in her second book, Who Are Those People and Why Did I Wave to Them?, which details the colorful, humorous, and bittersweet occurrences of everyday life. This collection of short stories and poems will be a true adventure for any reader who needs help remembering that even in the valley of pain and defeat, life is worth every moment and should be lived to the fullest. Take a seat, pick a page, and enter into a wild and crazy adventure called life. Rebecca's wholesome and engaging writing will help ordinary people find open doors to unexpected blessings.

Mississippi Gulf Coast Restaurants

Post Hurricane Katrina Stories, Recipes and More

Mississippi Gulf Coast Restaurants

August, twenty ninth, 2005, is a day that will forever be remembered by the citizens of the Mississippi Gulf Coast, for that was the day that changed our lives forever. Hurricane Katrina devastated our beautiful coast with her powerful winds, blinding rain and the highest storm surge, ever documented, in the history of the United States. This book is about many of our restaurants, along the coast, that were damaged or destroyed by Hurricane Katrina. Each of theses restaurants share the history of how they came to be as well as their personal Hurricane Katrina story. They have also graciously agreed to share some of their most delectable recipes, and believe me you will want to try them all (preferably in their restaurants) Some of our local Mississippi Coast Residents shared their very favorite recipes with us as well. Though not originally from Mississippi, Lee & Linda call the Mississippi Gulf Coast home. Linda writes children's book, as well as adult fiction and Lee is the illustrator. They both enjoyed successful careers in Television and Print advertising, and most recently were employed as Special Project Managers with Books Are Fun, a Readers Digest Company. Linda's first book, Awakening Nicholas, was written under the pen name of Lindsay Delaney; since then she has written the first two installments in her Strawberry Fairy series titled The Strawberry fairies Save Sandcastle Island and The Strawberry Fairies and The Secret Of Mystery Island . The third installment, The Strawberry Fairies And The Treasures Of Pirate's Island will be released soon along with Willow House; a mystery that takes place in the city of Ocean Springs, Mississippi.

Jenny Winslow And The Christmas Gift

Jenny Winslow And The Christmas Gift

The slow rolling motion of the train was gently putting Jenny to sleep. She was on her way to Ridgefield for the Christmas holidays. Her mother put her on the train yesterday to begin the long journey from Savannah, Georgia, to her father’s in Ridgefield, Colorado. It was his year for the Christmas holiday, and Jenny was nervous; she hadn’t seen her father in quite some time.

The Lover's Knot

A Someday Quilts Mystery

The Lover's Knot

Book #1 of the Someday Quilts Mystery series In the tradition of Jennifer Chiaverini and Emilie Richards, a debut quilting mystery Nell Fitzgerald is thrilled when she receives a gorgeous handmade quilt in a lover's knot pattern from her grandmother Eleanor as an engagement gift. Her joy is short-lived, however, when her fiancé announces he's calling off the wedding. Heartbroken, 25-year-old Nell flees New York City for her grandmother's home in quaint Archers Rest. In this small town Eleanor's life revolves around her quilt shop, Someday Quilts, and the members of the shop's quilting circle. When the body of a local handyman known for his flirting is found in the quilt shop, murdered with a pair of quilting scissors, Nell finds herself drawn into the case, and drawn to the handsome police chief. As a pattern of clues begins to emerge, one of the prime suspects is Nell's ex-fiancé, whose arrival in Archers Rest seems suspicious. The ladies of the quilting circle continue to piece together their quilts as Nell unravels the mystery. For quilters and mystery lovers alike, The Lover's Knot is a delightful and promising debut.

The Mary Kay Way

Timeless Principles from America's Greatest Woman Entrepreneur

The Mary Kay Way

The Mary Kay Way: Timeless Principles from America's Greatest Woman Entrepreneur is back in print and updated to reflect developments in today’s business environment for the modern entrepreneur. You will find inspiration and real, proven success principles that represents the forty-five year old success story of Mary Kay Ash, founder Mary Kay, Inc., the cosmetics company that provides women with unlimited opportunities for success. A foreword by Mary Kay’s grandson, also a company executive, introduces her timeless guide to entrepreneurial success.

The Case of the Cheater’s Chili

A 15-Minute Mystery

The Case of the Cheater’s Chili

Benny Samson walked up to Kendall and Jamie just as they were about to leave the school yard. “I want to hire you guys to help me win the big chili contest on Saturday.” “Help you win?” Kendall asked. “Yeah,” Benny said. “I know my chili recipe is better than Jerry Smart’s, but only if we cook fair.” See if you can tell if Jerry plays fair in this 15-minute mystery. Can you solve it before the Brodericks do? Similar to the old Encyclopedia Brown mysteries, these short mysteries give kids all the clues they need to solve the mystery, before revealing the answer on the last page, helping kids learn common sense and attention to detail. Ages 8 and up. LearningIsland.com believes in the value of children practicing reading for 15 minutes every day. Our 15-Minute Books give children lots of fun, exciting choices to read, from classic stories, to mysteries, to books of knowledge. Many books also work well as hi-lo readers. Open the world of reading to a child by having them read for 15 minutes a day.