Interviews with Monster Girls

Interviews with Monster Girls

They were once feared and forced to live in the shadows. But as modern society grew more enlightened, human beings began to realize that monsters like succubi, dullahans, and vampires deserve public services as much as anyone. Still, a girls’ high school for monsters? It sounds like a nightmare, but for one man it’s a dream job. Tetsuo has always been fascinated by “demi-humans,” and a job opening for a biology teacher at this school is his chance to see them firsthand!

Interviews with Monster Girls 6

Interviews with Monster Girls 6

SOME ENCHANTED EVENING Tetsuo Takahashi’s quest to understand the demis around him forces him to confront questions both cosmic and personal. He goes to Yoko’s house to meet her live-in spirit; does Zashiko hold the key to the secrets of the universe? Later, he and Sakie finally get to go out for a drink, but things get complicated when an unexpected guest shows up! And when Sakie learns Yuki has a secret of her own, will she be able to offer the young snow woman her help? When it comes to matters of the heart, it turns out demis can be awfully human!

The Case of the Missing Moonstone (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)

The Case of the Missing Moonstone (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket! Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world’s first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency! Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude—but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada’s first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency—a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it’s no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary. Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy.

High School Journalism

High School Journalism

Includes a brief history of American journalism and discusses the duties of a journalist, styles of writing, the parts of a newspaper, newspaper and yearbook design, photography, and careers in journalism.

TV Guide

TV Guide


Attack of the Monster Movie Makers

Interviews with 20 Genre Giants

Attack of the Monster Movie Makers

Twenty horror and science fiction moviemakers--both in front of and behind the camera--reminisce about some of their great (and not so great!) films. Merry Anders, Charles Bennett, Ben Chapman, Herman Cohen, Robert Day, Val Guest, Susan Hart, Candace Hilligoss, Rose Hobart, Betsy Jones-Moreland, Jacques Marquette, Cameron Mitchell, Ed Nelson, William Phipps, Vincent Price, Ann Robinson, Herbert Rudley, Harry Spalding, Kenneth Tobey, and Lupita Tovar reflect on their work in such movies as Berserk, I Was a Teenage Werewolf, Cat-Women of the Moon and many other movies. Some interviews were previously published.