The Routledge Companion to Children's Literature

The Routledge Companion to Children's Literature

The Routledge Companion to Children’s Literature is a vibrant and authoritative exploration of children’s literature in all its manifestations. It features a series of essays written by expert contributors who provide an illuminating examination of why children’s literature is the way it is. Topics covered include: the history and development of children's literature various theoretical approaches used to explore the texts, including narratological methods questions of gender and sexuality along with issues of race and ethnicity realism and fantasy as two prevailing modes of story-telling picture books, comics and graphic novels as well as ‘young adult’ fiction and the ‘crossover’ novel media adaptations and neglected areas of children’s literature. The Routledge Companion to Children’s Literature contains suggestions for further reading throughout plus a helpful timeline and a substantial glossary of key terms and names, both established and more cutting-edge. This is a comprehensive and up-to-date guide to an increasingly complex and popular discipline.

Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials Trilogy

A Reader's Guide

Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials Trilogy

The aim of this series is to provide accessible and informative introductions to some of the most popular, most acclaimed and most influential novels of recent years. This volume covers Philip Pullman's 'His Dark Materials Trilogy'.

Beyond His Dark Materials

Innocence and Experience in the Fiction of Philip Pullman

Beyond His Dark Materials

Beyond the His Dark Materials series lies a vast fictional realm populated by the many diverse character creations of Philip Pullman. During a more than 30-year career, Pullman has created worlds filled with quests, trials, tragedies and triumphs, and this book explores those worlds. The picture books, novellas and novels written for children, adolescents and adults are analyzed through the themes of innocence and experience. The journeys Pullman sets his characters on teach them that one must embrace change, loss and suffering to grow in wisdom and grace.

Egypt

The Book of Chaos

Egypt

Perfect for fans of Robert Harris, Wilbur Smith and Bernard Cornwell, this is breathtaking and atmospheric historical historical mystery set in Ancient Egypt from bestselling author Nick Drake. "In Drake's hands, ancient Egypt comes to life with all its treachery, vengeance, passion and power. A stunning achievement" -- M.C.SCOTT "Richly imagines, fiendishly plotted, gruesomely evocative." -- PAUL SUSSMAN "Drake takes an ancient, long-lost civilization and makes it fell frighteningly familiar. I was captivated from first page to last." -- GILES KRISTIAN "Genuinely suspenseful and full of unexpected twists and turns..." -- ***** Reader review "Powerful and persuasive, this is a red-blooded mystery well worth the read." - Reader review ********************* A DYNASTY IN PERIL. A CLANDESTINE MISSION TO DEFEAT THE TERROR THAT THREATENS THEM ALL. Egypt, 1320 BC: Rahotep is sent on a clandestine mission - he must cross enemy empires and rogue states to deliver a top-secret letter, from the Queen to her arch-enemy, the King of the Hittites. The future of Egypt lies in his hands and Rahotep knows he may not return from this mission. But he also has a personal motive driving him on, and personal demons he must face. Will he conquer them in time to save Egypt's greatest dynasty, and his own family, from the terror that threatens them all? Have you read Nefertiti and Tutankhamun, Rahotep's other adventures?

Philip Pullman, Master Storyteller

A Guide to the Worlds of His Dark Materials

Philip Pullman, Master Storyteller

Presents a comprehensive study of Philip Pullman, with focus on the contexts, sources, influences, and controversies of the "His Dark Materials" trilogy.

Tutankhamun

Tutankhamun

Perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, Wilbur Smith and Robert Harris, this is vivid and fascinating historical murder mystery set in Ancient Egypt from bestselling author Nick Drake. "Full of surprises, twists and turns, this is a glorious, riveting historical thriller" -- TESS GERRITSEN "Rahotep, like C. J, Sansom's Shardlake, is a detective at the very heart of his historical era" -- DAILY EXPRESS "At times I held my breath waiting for him to suss out the mystery..." -- ***** Reader review "Loved everything about this book..." -- ***** Reader review ***************************** A KING IN DANGER. A BATTLE TO STAY ALIVE. On the shadowy city streets the cryptically mutilated bodies of several young people are discovered. These brutal acts are destabilizing a ruthless regime already unstable thanks to corruption and the appalling divide between rich and poor. Meanwhile, Tutankhamun, at 18, has inherited an empire that should be at the height of power and glory. But he faces only a Court full of conspiracies and plotting, and a bitter struggle for power. And when his own security is threatened by an intruder in the palace, he needs an outsider he can trust to track down the traitor. Rahotep receives a mysterious invitation to the labyrinthine halls of the Royal Palace. But what he discovers at the dark heart of power will put his life, and his family, in grave danger. . . Rahotep's adventures continue in Egypt: The Book of Chaos. Have you read Nefertiti, his first adventure?

Philip Pullman

Philip Pullman

Philip Pullman is an award-winning author perhaps best known for his epic trilogy, His Dark Materials, one of the few fantasy classics to feature a strong female central protagonist. Pullman is a creator of new worlds and the captain of adventures, spinning intricate and fantastical yarns. His life story is every bit as fascinating as the tales he has created from life, transforming them with storytelling magic into classics of fantasy literature. This is the life story of a master storyteller, and readers will receive a privileged glimpse into the mind and working methods of a creative genius. This supports Common Core standards for the reading of biographies.

Regeneration

Regeneration

A new stage adaptation of Pat Barker's acclaimed novel about World War One, and poets Siegfried Sassoon and Wilfred Owen.