Good Morning, Midnight

A Novel

Good Morning, Midnight

For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton’s haunting debut is the unforgettable story of two outsiders—a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth—as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SHELF AWARENESS AND THE CHICAGO REVIEW OF BOOKS • COLSON WHITEHEAD'S FAVORITE BOOK OF 2016 (Esquire) Augustine, a brilliant, aging astronomer, is consumed by the stars. For years he has lived in remote outposts, studying the sky for evidence of how the universe began. At his latest posting, in a research center in the Arctic, news of a catastrophic event arrives. The scientists are forced to evacuate, but Augustine stubbornly refuses to abandon his work. Shortly after the others have gone, Augustine discovers a mysterious child, Iris, and realizes that the airwaves have gone silent. They are alone. At the same time, Mission Specialist Sullivan is aboard the Aether on its return flight from Jupiter. The astronauts are the first human beings to delve this deep into space, and Sully has made peace with the sacrifices required of her: a daughter left behind, a marriage ended. So far the journey has been a success. But when Mission Control falls inexplicably silent, Sully and her crewmates are forced to wonder if they will ever get home. As Augustine and Sully each face an uncertain future against forbidding yet beautiful landscapes, their stories gradually intertwine in a profound and unexpected conclusion. In crystalline prose, Good Morning, Midnight poses the most important questions: What endures at the end of the world? How do we make sense of our lives? Lily Brooks-Dalton’s captivating debut is a meditation on the power of love and the bravery of the human heart. Praise for Good Morning, Midnight “Stunningly gorgeous . . . The book contemplates the biggest questions—What is left at the end of the world? What is the impact of a life’s work?”—Portland Mercury “A beautifully written, sparse post-apocalyptic novel that explores memory, loss and identity . . . Fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven and Kim Stanley Robinson’s Aurora will appreciate the Brooks-Dalton’s exquisite exploration of relationships in extreme environments.”—The Washington Post “Ambitious . . . Brooks-Dalton’s prose lights up the page in great swathes, her dialogue sharp and insightful, and the high-concept plot drives a story of place, elusive love, and the inexorable yearning for human contact.”—Publishers Weekly “Beautiful descriptions create a sense of wonder and evoke feelings of desolation. . . . Brooks-Dalton’s heartfelt debut novel unfolds at a perfect pace as it asks readers what will be left when everything in the world is gone.”—Booklist “Good Morning, Midnight is a remarkable and gifted debut novel. Lily Brooks-Dalton is an uncanny chronicler of desolate spaces, whether it’s the cold expanse of the universe or the deepest recesses of the human heart.”—Colson Whitehead “With imagination, empathy, and insight into unchanged and unchangeable human nature, Lily Brooks-Dalton takes us on an emotional journey in this beautiful debut.”—Yiyun Li “A truly original novel, otherworldly and profoundly human . . . Good Morning, Midnight is a fascinating story, surprising and inspiring at every turn.”—Keith Scribner

Good Morning, Midnight

Good Morning, Midnight

"No one who reads Good Morning, Midnight will ever forget it." - New York Times

Good Morning Midnight

Life and Death in the Wild

Good Morning Midnight

A portrait of former Capitol Hill speechwriter Guy Waterman follows his decision to leave civilization and live off the land in a Vermont cabin, describing his passionate pursuit of mountain climbing and his controversial suicide. Reprint. 50,000 first printing.

Good Morning, Midnight

Good Morning, Midnight

For fans of STATION ELEVEN and THE MARTIAN 'A remarkable and gifted debut novel' Colson Whitehead, author of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD 'What does it mean to be isolated from the ordinariness of the everyday world, yet to find the extraordinariness of being close to another human being?' Yiyun Li, PEN/Hemingway Award winner There is a particular beauty in silence, in being cut off from the world. Augustine is a brilliant, ageing scientist, consumed by the stars. Isolated in the cold but electrifying beauty of an Arctic Circle research base, he scans the universe, trying to find the origins of time itself. Mission Specialist Sullivan, a divorced astronaut and mother, is aboard the Aether, on its return flight from Jupiter. When all communication goes silent, she is left wondering what she will be returning to. As the silence expands, these two character begin to understand their place in the world, and what gives their life meaning. For only in the silence can we find out who we truly are. GOOD MORNING MIDNIGHT is an extraordinarily beautiful and poignant novel about what is to be human - what is means to have experienced ambition, loss, grief, what it means to love and be loved. 'A beautifully written, sparse post-apocalyptic novel that explores memory, loss and identity ... Fans of Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and Kim Stanley Robinson's Aurora will appreciate the Brooks-Dalton's exquisite exploration of relationships in extreme environments.' Washington Post

Good Morning, Midnight

A Dalziel and Pascoe Mystery

Good Morning, Midnight

"A complex and deeply satisfying tale...one part traditional English whodunit and one part shadowy corporate thriller." --Publishers Weekly (starred review) Prominent businessman Pal Maciver locked himself in his study and shot himself. It's an open-and-shut case, as far as Detective Superintendent Andy Dalziel is concerned. Except...Maciver's father died in an almost identical manner ten years earlier, and "Fat Andy" was the investigating officer. Pal's strange and strained relationship with his beautiful, enigmatic stepmother, Kay Kafka, also raises warning flags. And the family's shady corporate dealings carry two apparent acts of self-slaughter far beyond the borders of Yorkshire, causing policeman Peter Pascoe to question his superior's reticence...and his motives.

Good Morning--midnight--

Good Morning--midnight--

Poetry. "For those trying to understand the relation between innovative writing and feminism, Kim Rosenfield.is required reading"-Juliana Spahr. By sampling and blending the languages of science, money, beauty, and fashion, Rosenfield presents a critique of how these languages define and limit women. "Kim Rosenfield's long-awaited Good Morning-Midnight- is a rollicking expose of twenty-first century custom, superstition, procedure.An olfactory must for all time capsules and poetry shoppers alike"- Stacy Davis. "A Japanese-made little flight-attendant-esque scarflette// I don't have much of a waist/ This will give me a waist.// Prada citizen!/ Vote the party line/ The Slim Skirt party.// This isn't brain surgery/ it's a skirt" (from "Wisdom Frost").

Home, Maison, Casa

The Politics of Location in Works by Jean Rhys, Marguerite Duras, and Erminia Dell'Oro

Home, Maison, Casa

"The book is concerned with homes, maisons, and case - English, French, and Italian words which refer to a similar idea yet which reveal, together, that the notion of being at home, a la maison, or a case pivots on the axis of material dwelling places as well as the more abstract concept of being at home, or chez soi.".