Furniture Makes the Room

In this inspiring book, Blair goes beyond the nuts and bolts of furniture refinishing to show how to style rooms with each customized piece.

Furniture Makes the Room

Knack Studio founder Barb Blair is famous for her "knack" with furniture: spotting classic pieces and transforming them into modern showstoppers. In this inspiring book, Blair goes beyond the nuts and bolts of furniture refinishing to show how to style rooms with each customized piece. For instance, she transforms a well-worn coffee table with a painted ombré design, and then reveals how to incorporate it into a bright and sunny den, a cozy reading nook, and a cheerful bedroom. With instructions for 15 before-and-after furniture projects—dressers, tables, beds, armoire, and more—in Blair's signature bold style, a "toolbox" section detailing her favorite techniques and materials, and photos of dozens of inspiring interiors, Furniture Makes the Room unlocks the secrets to decorating livable rooms around statement pieces.

Home Staging For Dummies

Slipcovering a piece of furniture gives it a clean updated look and breathes new
life into a room. ... that draws the buyer's attention away from the furniture
Eliminate some of it Oversized furniture can overpower a room and make it feel
smaller.

Home Staging For Dummies

Want to have homebuyers knocking down your door? Home Staging For Dummies delivers all the secrets to making your home stand out, sell faster, and bring in more money! It shows you how to make improvements room by room and generate a higher profit in the most cost- and time-effective way. Featuring eight full-color pages of instructive before-and-after photos, this completely practical guide demonstrates how and why to eliminate clutter, make repairs, arrange furnishings, and pave the way for buyers to make an emotional connection to your house. You’ll get a handle on what buyers want and how to show it to them, find plenty of do-it-yourself tasks that add real value to your home, and get tips on producing photos of your home that will have buyers craving to see more! Discover how to: See your home as prospective buyers will see it Know what needs doing and what doesn’t Master the three-step home staging process Add real value to your home without breaking the bank Decide whether to DIY or call in the pros Create curb appeal Make a great first impression with a beautiful entryway Spruce up your kitchen, bathroom, living, and dining rooms Turn your bedrooms into a buyer’s dream Whip your mechanicals into top shape Avoid staging nightmares Get top dollar for your home — all you need is a little help from Home Staging For Dummies!

Rereading Doris Lessing

Lynda's rooms and her two walls are another kind of book. The odd placement of
objects and furniture makes the room “a place to get out of as fast as possible—
either that, or a place to study, to make sense of to sink oneself into” (486).

Rereading Doris Lessing

According to Sprague, doubling in Lessing's novels is a perfect correlative for the complexity and contradiction Lessing perceives as central to the private and collective human experience. Her doubles and multiples not only indicate the fracturing or the formation of identity but they also are among the several strategies used to project complex private and societal concerns. This study of Lessing's dialectical imagination extends and revises earlier feminist approaches. Originally published in 1987. A UNC Press Enduring Edition -- UNC Press Enduring Editions use the latest in digital technology to make available again books from our distinguished backlist that were previously out of print. These editions are published unaltered from the original, and are presented in affordable paperback formats, bringing readers both historical and cultural value.

Furniture Makers and Consumers in England 1754 1851

... further orders.132 However, face-to-face communication may have had more
practical purposes for furniture-makers. ... if she had decided to have sofas for her
drawing room.133 Similarly, in a letter to Mrs Starkie in 1800, Gillow asked her ...

Furniture Makers and Consumers in England  1754   1851

Covering the period from the publication of Thomas Chippendale's The Gentleman and Cabinet-Makers' Director (1754) to the Great Exhibition (1851), this book analyses the relationships between producer retailers and consumers of furniture and interior design, and explores what effect dialogues surrounding these transactions had on the standardisation of furniture production during this period. This was an era, before mass production, when domestic furniture was made both to order and from standard patterns and negotiations between producers and consumers formed a crucial part of the design and production process. This study narrows in on three main areas of this process: the role of pattern books and their readers; the construction of taste and style through negotiation; and daily interactions through showrooms and other services, to reveal the complexities of English material culture in a period of industrialisation.

Furnishing Your Home

How Does the Room Itself Affect Furniture Arrangement ? The shape and size of
a room , its architectural features , and the available wall space should all be
considered when furniture arrangement is planned . Furniture may be placed so
as ...

Furnishing Your Home


Good Furniture Magazine of Furnishing Decoration

On each side are four shelves . tables and bookcase having sharp pointed legs
though A fine furniture maker and an excellent wood sculp- the veneering is less
distracting . However , the point tor is Georges de Bardyère . His dining room in ...

Good Furniture Magazine of Furnishing   Decoration


Personal Places

Sometimes it ' s appropriate to fining the room . Low furniture makes the ceiling
seem nigner , and enlarge the windows . If plants are on view outdoors , you can
bring simple modular seating is a favorite for designers of small spaces . some ...

Personal Places

Boek met ideeen om tot een persoonlijke wooninrichting te komen.

Pathway to Prosperity

If this room is a family or living room, make sure that the furniture makes you feel
good and rich. One idea is to place a plant here with leaves that move in an
upward direction, such as bamboo. This helps lift the energy and raise the
vibration of ...

Pathway to Prosperity


A Millionaire for Cinderella

He settled in next to her. “You tell me. You looked a million miles away.” “I was
thinking how you could fit my old apartment into this place's living room.” “It's the
lack of furniture. Makes the space seem bigger.” “No, our apartment was that
small.

A Millionaire for Cinderella

You shall get your happy ending! Patience Rush has never wanted a knight in shining armor. She's perfectly happy cooking and cleaning for her elderly charge. Here Patience feels safe, secure and protected for the first time ever. Until rich and incredibly gorgeous Stuart Duchenko arrives, determined to figure out his great-aunt's unlikely housekeeper! He's sure Patience is hiding something…but what? Except as this unlikely pair grows closer, Patience realizes that letting go of her past might be the key to a blissful future with Stuart…

Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman

“We have to get rid of this heavy furniture it makes the room feel stuffy and
overcrowded. But we can keep this.” Lady Verity tapped her fingertips on the
surface of a delicate pier table. “It's beautiful when you get it away from that
monstrous ...

Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman

Lady Montfort has been planning her annual summer costume ball for months, and with scrupulous care. Pulling together the food, flowers and a thousand other details for one of the most significant social occasions of the year is her happily accepted responsibility. But when her husband's degenerate nephew is found murdered, it's more than the ball that is ruined. In fact, Lady Montfort fears that the official police enquiry, driven by petty snobbery and class prejudice, is pointing towards her son as a potential suspect. Taking matters into her own hands, the rather over-imaginative countess enlists the help of her pragmatic housekeeper, Mrs. Jackson, to investigate the case, track down the women that vanished the night of the murder, and clear her son's name. As the two women search for a runaway housemaid and a headstrong young woman, they unearth the hidden lives of Lady Montfort's close friends, servants and family and discover the identity of a murderer hiding in plain sight. In this enchanting debut sure to appeal to fans of Downton Abbey, Tessa Arlen draws readers into a world exclusively enjoyed by the rich, privileged classes and suffered by the men and women who serve them. Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman is an elegant mystery filled with intriguing characters and fascinating descriptions of Edwardian life—a superb treat for those who love British novels.