Furiously Happy

A Funny Book About Horrible Things

Furiously Happy

In Furiously Happy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jenny Lawson explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. But terrible ideas are what Jenny does best. As Jenny says: "Some people might think that being 'furiously happy' is just an excuse to be stupid and irresponsible and invite a herd of kangaroos over to your house without telling your husband first because you suspect he would say no since he's never particularly liked kangaroos. And that would be ridiculous because no one would invite a herd of kangaroos into their house. Two is the limit. I speak from personal experience. My husband says that none is the new limit. I say he should have been clearer about that before I rented all those kangaroos. "Most of my favorite people are dangerously fucked-up but you'd never guess because we've learned to bare it so honestly that it becomes the new normal. Like John Hughes wrote in The Breakfast Club, 'We're all pretty bizarre. Some of us are just better at hiding it.' Except go back and cross out the word 'hiding.'" Furiously Happy is about "taking those moments when things are fine and making them amazing, because those moments are what make us who we are, and they're the same moments we take into battle with us when our brains declare war on our very existence. It's the difference between "surviving life" and "living life". It's the difference between "taking a shower" and "teaching your monkey butler how to shampoo your hair." It's the difference between being "sane" and being "furiously happy." Lawson is beloved around the world for her inimitable humor and honesty, and in Furiously Happy, she is at her snort-inducing funniest. This is a book about embracing everything that makes us who we are - the beautiful and the flawed - and then using it to find joy in fantastic and outrageous ways. Because as Jenny's mom says, "Maybe 'crazy' isn't so bad after all." Sometimes crazy is just right.

Furiously Happy

A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson | Key Takeaways, Analysis & Review

Furiously Happy

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson | Key Takeaways, Analysis & Review Preview: Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things is a series of essays that are hysterically funny and poignant at the same time. The author, Jenny Lawson, suffers from clinical depression, an anxiety disorder, an impulse control disorder, avoidant personality disorder, insomnia, and rheumatoid arthritis among other illnesses. As a result of her illnesses, she is chronically depressed. She experiences serious lows, such as days she cannot get out of bed, and she has thoughts of suicide. After one particularly bad period, she decided to be ‘furiously happy’ to counter the sadness. Within a few hours of using #FuriouslyHappy, Larson’s many Twitter followers got behind her idea and the hashtag began trending… PLEASE NOTE: This is key takeaways and analysis of the book and NOT the original book. Inside this Instaread of Furiously Happy:Overview of the bookImportant PeopleKey TakeawaysAnalysis of Key Takeaways

Furiously Happy

Furiously Happy

For fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey and Caitlin Moran comes the new book from Jenny Lawson, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Let's Pretend This Never Happened... In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Jenny Lawson regaled readers with uproarious stories of her bizarre childhood. In her new book, Furiously Happy, she explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. And terrible ideas are what Jenny does best. As Jenny says: 'You can't experience pain without also experiencing the baffling and ridiculous moments of being fiercely, unapologetically, intensely and (above all) furiously happy.' It's a philosophy that has - quite literally - saved her life. Jenny's first book, Let's Pretend This Never Happened, was ostensibly about family, but deep down it was about celebrating your own weirdness. Furiously Happy is a book about mental illness, but under the surface it's about embracing joy in fantastic and outrageous ways. And who doesn't need a bit more of that?

Furiously Happy

A Funny Book about Horrible Things

Furiously Happy

"In Furiously Happy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jenny Lawson explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. But terrible ideas are what Jenny does best. As Jenny says: "Some people might think that being 'furiously happy' is just an excuse to be stupid and irresponsible and invite a herd of kangaroos over to your house without telling your husband first because you suspect he would say no since he's never particularly liked kangaroos. And that would be ridiculous because no one would invite a herd of kangaroos into their house. Two is the limit. I speak from personal experience. My husband says that none is the new limit. I say he should have been clearer about that before I rented all those kangaroos. "Most of my favorite people are dangerously fucked-up but you'd never guess because we've learned to bare it so honestly that it becomes the new normal. Like John Hughes wrote in The Breakfast Club, 'We're all pretty bizarre. Some of us are just better at hiding it.' Except go back and cross out the word 'hiding.'"Furiously Happy is about "taking those moments when things are fine and making them amazing, because those moments are what make us who we are, and they're the same moments we take into battle with us when our brains declare war on our very existence. It's the difference between "surviving life" and "living life". It's the difference between "taking a shower" and "teaching your monkey butler how to shampoo your hair." It's the difference between being "sane" and being "furiously happy."Lawson is beloved around the world for her inimitable humor and honesty, and in Furiously Happy, she is at her snort-inducing funniest. This is a book about embracing everything that makes us who we are - the beautiful and the flawed - and then using it to find joy in fantastic and outrageous ways. Because as Jenny's mom says, "Maybe 'crazy' isn't so bad after all." Sometimes crazy is just right"--

The Complete Canadian Book Editor

The Complete Canadian Book Editor

The essential resource for aspiring and professional editors Whether you are a student of the craft or a working editor, you need The Complete Canadian Book Editor. From building and managing author relationships, through acquiring and developing manuscripts, to every level of text editing and proofing for print and ebooks, editors play integral roles in the operations of a book publishing house. In The Complete Canadian Book Editor, veteran editor and professor Leslie Vermeer sets out both the concepts and the processes that an effective editor must command. Dr. Vermeer guides aspiring editors in presenting themselves successfully to employers and clients, and working editors will recognize the voice of a mentor in her advice about career advancement. Editors at all levels—along with authors and self-publishers—will find in The Complete Canadian Book Editor all of the step-by-step editorial tools they need to take projects from promising beginnings to their full potential. With exercises throughout, The Complete Canadian Book Editor reinforces key concepts, and builds your skills as an expert editor. Topics include: Manuscript acquisition and book contracts. Editorial stages, from development to proofreading. Design and production, including digital workflow. What every editor needs to know about marketing. The state of book publishing in Canada today. The future of publishing, and why editors are more important than ever before.

Llewellyn's Little Book of Unicorns

Llewellyn's Little Book of Unicorns

Embrace the magic of unicorns and find your sparkle with this extraordinary book on rediscovering wonder and happiness. From their historical and modern significance to the two types of unicorn encounters you can experience, Llewellyn's Little Book of Unicorns is packed with ways to find inspiration, heightened creativity, and the playful source of your joy. In this book, you'll find: The historical significance of these fabled creatures and their appeal in modern times The two forms of unicorn encounters: Seeing vs Living The appearance and characteristics of unicorns and what they mean for you personally A new understanding of the imagination Tools that unicorn energy uses to get your attention: self-reflection, synchronicity, magnified moments, imagination, beauty, dreams, passions, personal quirks, and your unicorn people Additional unicorn tools of vibrance: color, rainbows, and crystals How to be awake to the magic through the practice of mindfulness What it means to believe Guidance on the practice of decluttering and why it's important How to find where your sparkle is stuck and reclaim it Practice in learning to be playful again Attention to shadow and how to attend to those darker aspects of self Chakra and energy work through the lens of the unicorn What it means to "Call in the Unicorn" Llewellyn's Little Book of Unicorns features a variety of methods to connect with unicorn energy, including your imagination, crystals, dreams, chakras, your passions and personal quirks, and the unicorn-like people in your life. Discover what makes you shine from the inside-out, even in the face of difficult life challenges. Through engaging exercises and spiritual techniques, this fun, practical book helps you live your most amazing life.

Secret Heirs And A Forever Family

Secret Heirs And A Forever Family

The Secret Heirs and A Forever Family Collection by Mills & Boon