Everything Belongs

The Gift of Contemplative Prayer

Everything Belongs

Using Zen parables and personal experiences, Rohr leads readers beyond the techniques of prayer to a place where they can receive the gift of contemplation--and know that everything belongs.

Everything Belongs to the Future

Everything Belongs to the Future

Time is a weapon wielded by the rich, who have excess of it, against the rest, who must trade every breath of it against the promise of another day's food and shelter. What kind of world have we made, where human beings can live centuries if only they can afford the fix? What kind of creatures have we become? The same as we always were, but keener. In the ancient heart of Oxford University, the ultra-rich celebrate their vastly extended lifespans. But a few surprises are in store for them. From Nina and Alex, Margo and Fidget, scruffy anarchists sharing living space with an ever-shifting cast of crusty punks and lost kids. And also from the scientist who invented the longevity treatment in the first place. Everything Belongs to the Future is a bloody-minded tale of time, betrayal, desperation, and hope that could only have been told by the inimitable Laurie Penny. "The scariest, most enduring dystopias walk a fine line between parable and prediction. Penny erases that line. In this made-up story, the rich speciate from the poor; in our real world, working class lifespans are declining as the one percent live ever longer lives at ever-greater removes from the rest of us. This is no mere literary device. This is a pitiless allegory, calculated to enrage and terrify its readers." -- Cory Doctorow At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Everything Belongs to Us

A Novel

Everything Belongs to Us

Two young women of vastly different means each struggle to find her own way during the darkest hours of South Korea’s “economic miracle” in a striking debut novel for readers of Anthony Marra and Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie. Seoul, 1978. At South Korea’s top university, the nation’s best and brightest compete to join the professional elite of an authoritarian regime. Success could lead to a life of rarefied privilege and wealth; failure means being left irrevocably behind. For childhood friends Jisun and Namin, the stakes couldn’t be more different. Jisun, the daughter of a powerful business mogul, grew up on a mountainside estate with lush gardens and a dedicated chauffeur. Namin’s parents run a tented food cart from dawn to curfew; her sister works in a shoe factory. Now Jisun wants as little to do with her father’s world as possible, abandoning her schoolwork in favor of the underground activist movement, while Namin studies tirelessly in the service of one goal: to launch herself and her family out of poverty. But everything changes when Jisun and Namin meet an ambitious, charming student named Sunam, whose need to please his family has led him to a prestigious club: the Circle. Under the influence of his mentor, Juno, a manipulative social climber, Sunam becomes entangled with both women, as they all make choices that will change their lives forever. In this sweeping yet intimate debut, Yoojin Grace Wuertz details four intertwining lives that are rife with turmoil and desire, private anxieties and public betrayals, dashed hopes and broken dreams—while a nation moves toward prosperity at any cost. Praise for Everything Belongs to Us “The intertwined lives of South Korean university students provide intimacy to a rich and descriptive portrait of the country during the period of authoritarian industrialization in the late 1970s. Wuertz’s debut novel is a Gatsby-esque takedown, full of memorable characters.”—The New York Times Book Review (Editors’ Choice) “Wuertz’s masterful novel traces the paths of two friends who come from very different backgrounds, but whose trajectories have taken them to the same point in time. This is a story of love and passion, betrayal and ambition, and it is an always fascinating look at a country whose many contradictions contribute to its often enigmatic allure.”—Nylon “Less a debut and more an arrival, this arresting first novel from Yoojin Grace Wuertz brings to life a South Korea poised on the brink of transformation and the young people caught up in its turbulence. . . . Readers will easily draw parallels between the South Korean generation pictured here and today’s millennials, both groups of young people set to inherit sink-or-swim social orders with huge gaps in wealth. . . . Powerful and absorbing, Everything Belongs to Us introduces a new and compelling voice.”—Shelf Awareness “Hauntingly relevant . . . hums with exquisite tensions . . . The novel reveals an exciting place and time, in the catalytic sense, and all the more-so for us as visitors who are surrounded by its echoes—class, sex, race—even now.”—Paste “Engrossing . . . Wuertz is an important new voice in American fiction.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “[A] memorable debut . . . Wuertz crafts a story with delicious scenes and plot threads.”—Publishers Weekly “An absorbing debut destined for major lists and nominations.”—Booklist

Uncommon Prayer

Prayer in Everyday Experience

Uncommon Prayer

In Uncommon Prayer: Prayer in Everyday Experience, Michael Plekon wants to change our minds on what constitutes prayer. In doing so, he makes a theological claim that commonplace aspects of the Christian life are best understood as prayer, whereby encouraging us to see that everyday life carries religious import; prayer and the religious life are not restricted to special places and times, but are open to all believers at all times. Plekon examines the works of diverse authors, including many who have challenged the status quo of institutional churches. He asks us to listen to what poets, writers, activists, and others tell us about how they pray at work and at home, with colleagues, family, and friends, in all the experiences of life, from joy to suffering, sadness to hope. Among them are Sarah Coakley, Rowan Williams, Heather Havrilesky, Sara Miles, Thomas Merton, Mary Oliver, Christian Wiman, Mary Karr, Barbara Brown Taylor, Dorothy Day, Maria Skobtsova, Paul Evdokimov, Seraphim of Sarov, and Richard Rohr. Plekon argues that prayer encompasses a much wider variety of activity than formal and liturgical prayers and that, by recognizing such aspects of prayer, the believer is made more receptive to transformative aspects of prayerful attitudes.

Tale So True of My Christmas Tree

Everything Belongs in Our World

Tale So True of My Christmas Tree

Everyone and everything belongs in our world. Each has its place in creation. However made - perfect or less than so in the eyes of the beholder - no one and nothing is an accident. The lesson learned within reminds the reader that all persons and things have their place in God's crafting, regardless of one's attitude. "Explores the dignity of each one of us within a lovely Christmas setting." - Elaine Babbish "Never have I read a brief summary of God's eyes and inclusion of all creation so praisefully and gracefully on our fragile, evergreen Earth." - Jeff Mott

Everything Belongs to Someone: A Whimsical Farce from the Thrift Store

Everything Belongs to Someone: A Whimsical Farce from the Thrift Store

EVERYTHING BELONGS TO SOMEONEByDr. Sydney J. SmartThis volume of the Thrift Store Mysteries is more of a true-to-life tales. Yes, tales of the social interactions of a group of Senior Citizens. Not just any group, but who make up the volunteers of the Paradise Valley Women's Club.These stories are of the type; that make us all want to shake our heads and chuckle. In saying what I have, I'll guarantee you; that you will see someone you know in some of these pages.Did you ever 'sible?' You know, with a sibling or two? Did you every have the undeniable urge to snatch your brother or sister bald because of the way they treated you? Don't forget, if you are my age, this means those "beloved" siblings with whom you fought but now because you are older and more "mature" that isn't supposed to happen. Does it or doesn't it?Have you ever disagreed with someone when you knew you were absolutely right, and they were absolutely wrong? Did you win? Did it really matter in the end?Do you know whether or not they brought silver tea sets over on the Mayflower? Did all 120 of them stand on Plymouth Rock, as some people insist was so?How is maple syrup made? From where does milk come? Who invented ironing and why? What is a tatting shuttle?In this book you will meet two new members to the club, two very different folks in many aspects but both a blessing to the group.I hope that you get to laugh, cry, learn new things and find your own family in "Everything Belongs to Someone" and let me add "Everyone."

Be of Good Mind

Essays on the Coast Salish

Be of Good Mind

In this book, anthropologists, archaeologists, historians, linguists, and Aboriginal leaders focus on how Coast Salish lives and identities have been influenced by the two colonizing nations (Canada and the US) and by shifting Aboriginal circumstances. Contributors point to the continual reshaping of Coast Salish identities and our understandings of them through litigation and language revitalization, as well as community efforts to reclaim their connections with the environment. They point to significant continuity of networks of kinfolk, spiritual practices, and understandings of landscape. This is the first book-length effort to directly incorporate Aboriginal perspectives and a broad interdisciplinary approach to research about the Coast Salish.

A Father's Letter to a Son

A Father's Letter to a Son

In a world increasingly designed to deceive and tear a person away from God, what can a Christian father do to ensure his children come to the knowledge of our Lord and the plan He has for them? Randall Latham's "A Father's Letter to a Son" is one father's approach to providing a guiding path to his son's spiritual growth. Addressing many of the spiritual issues facing teenage boys, "A Father's Letter to a Son" provides a father's perspective of these most important issues.

Everything and Nothing

Everything and Nothing

"Some of the most witty, uncannily original short fiction in Western Literature." The New Yorker"

I Exist in All Planes at the Same Time Anthology Three Volume One

Bible Class Lessons and Everlasting Gospels By

I Exist in All Planes at the Same Time Anthology Three Volume One

The gospels of Leader Olumba Olumba Obu constitute the Tree of Life whose fruit Adam and Eve were not allowed to taste of. Do you want to eat of the tree of life? Then read this book, and it will give you access to the tree of life.