Deep South Anna Pigeon Mysteries Book 8

This is one of those books you wish would never end'

Deep South  Anna Pigeon Mysteries  Book 8

Anna Pigeon encounters terrible secrets in the heart of the south... Relocated to Mississippi, Anna Pigeon encounters one of her most troubling cases yet in Deep South, the eighth novel in Nevada Barr's acclaimed crime series. Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton and Janet Evanovich. 'A nifty thriller... Barr's one heckuva writer... Her tales read like Patricia Cornwell exploring the great outdoors' - Jackson Clarion-Ledger Anna Pigeon finally gives in to her bureaucratic clock - and signs on for a promotion. Next thing she knows, she's knee-deep in mud and Mississippi. Not exactly what she had in mind. Almost immediately, as the new district ranger on the Natchez Trace, Anna discovers the body of a young prom queen near a country cemetery, a sheet around her head, a noose around her neck. It's a bizarre twist on a best-forgotten past of frightening racial undertones. As fast as the ever-encroaching kudzu vines of the region, the roots of this story run deep - and threaten to suffocate anyone in the way, including Anna... What readers are saying about Deep South: 'A richly textured, thoughtful and provocative mystery set in an enchanting part of our world' 'You are immediately drawn in to the story, and unable to put it down until the very last word!' '[Nevada Barr] doesn't just tell you about the Deep South, she takes you there... This is one of those books you wish would never end'

Deep South

It's a bizarre twist on a best-forgotten past of frightening racial undertones. As fast as the ever-encroaching kudzu vines of the region, the roots of this story run deep-and threaten to suffocate anyone in the way, including Anna.

Deep South

Nevada Barr's ever-popular Anna Pigeon series is consistently praised as "exceptional" (Denver Post), "stunning" (Seattle Times), and "superb" (New York Times Book Review). In Deep South, Park Ranger Anna Pigeon heads to Mississippi, only to encounter terrible secrets in the heart of the south… Anna Pigeon finally gives in to her bureaucratic clock-and signs on for a promotion. Next thing she knows, she's knee-deep in mud and Mississippi. Not exactly what she had in mind. Almost immediately, as the new district ranger on the Natchez Trace, Anna discovers the body of a young prom queen near a country cemetery, a sheet around her head, a noose around her neck. It's a bizarre twist on a best-forgotten past of frightening racial undertones. As fast as the ever-encroaching kudzu vines of the region, the roots of this story run deep-and threaten to suffocate anyone in the way, including Anna...

Books Out Loud

Books Out Loud


Words on Cassette 2002

Nevada. Deep South. 9 cass. unabr. ed. (Anna Pigeon Mystery Ser.: No. 8). (
Running Time: 12 hrs. 15 mins.). 2000. 83.00 (0-7887-4307-4. 96IIIE7) ... 18.00 (
1-59040-129-8, Phoenix Audio) Pub: Amer Intl Pubng Grp. Dist(s): Publishers
Group ...

Words on Cassette 2002


What Do I Read Next 2002

Book 7 Subject ( s ) : Children ; Childhood ; Memory Major character ( s ) : Charlie
Peace , Police Officer ; Matt Harper ... Alan Banks Series , 1987Subject ( s ) :
American South ; Sexual Behavior ; History Major character ( s ) : Anna Pigeon ...

What Do I Read Next  2002

Contains descriptions of 1,201 books in nine fiction genres published in late 2001 and 2002, each including the author or editor's name, publication information, story type, major characters, subject, plot summary, and lists of reviews and other books by the same writer; arranged alphabetically by author in each genre section.

Gumshoes

Track of the Cat (1993), the first Anna Pigeon mystery, takes place in Texas's
Guadalupe Mountains National Park, highlighting a ... Times Book Review (May
23, 1993: 8), accurately observed that the physical isolation somewhat
unnaturally forces Anna to make her ... through a critical illness while probing
mysterious accidents in Gateways Park, which includes Liberty and Ellis Islands.
In Deep South ...

Gumshoes

Presents roughly 150 alphabetically arranged entries on fictional detectives and the works in which they appear.

Something about the Author

Journal Sentinel reviewer Dorman T . Shindler praised Anna ' s inner struggle ,
saying that Barr ' s “ biggest triumph is in ... But a Booklist reviewer criticized
Blood Lure as weaker than the previous novels in the series : “ Barr takes too
long to set ... previous noullicized Bleack to trust , Biographical and Critical
Sources PERIODICALS In the course of her “ Anna Pigeon " series , Barr told
Rowen ... 1542 ; January 1 , 2000 , John Rowen , review of Deep South , p . ... 8 ;
April 28 , 1996 , p .

Something about the Author

Provides biographical information on the men and women who write and illustrate children's books.

Genreflecting A Guide to Popular Reading Interests 8th Edition

8. 9. An Incomplete Revenge. 2008. Among the Mad. 2009. The Mapping of Love
and Death. 2010. A Lesson in Secrets. 2011 ... The American Agent. 2019 ... The
19 books in this series focus on Pigeon, a park ranger at various national parks in
the United ... Readers return to this series not only for the character of Anna but
also for the vivid descriptions of the setings. ... Ill Wind. 1995. Firestorm. 1996.
Endangered Species. 1997. Blind Descent. 1998. Liberty Falling. 1999. Deep
South.

Genreflecting  A Guide to Popular Reading Interests  8th Edition

Librarians who work with readers will find this well-loved guide to be a treasure trove of information. With descriptive annotations of thousands of genre titles mapped by genre and subgenre, this is the readers' advisor's go-to reference. • Helps librarians answer the challenging question "What should I read next?" • Helps LIS students understand popular genres and better select books for which readers are looking • Serves as a starting point for library patrons looking for their next read