A Class Act

This book offers an original and challenging theoretical and empirical approach to mapping the changing nature of teachers' work historically and in the contemporary period.

A Class Act

This book offers an original and challenging theoretical and empirical approach to mapping the changing nature of teachers' work historically and in the contemporary period. It is an attempt to understand how and in what ways teachers' work has changed following the demise of the post-war settlement and the imminent collapse of teachers' project of professionalism secured through solidaristic strategies such as unionism. Dr. Robertson argues that in order to understand these issues, a more rigorous set of conceptual tools around social class, occupational power and worker control is needed. The first two sections of the book set out to address that problem. The final section elaborates on the changing contexts and conditions for contemporary teachers more generally, and argues that structural and ideological changes within educational provision have led to differing capacities in the realization of class assets.

A Class Act

The books are filled to the brim with brains, money, desire, obsession and rivalry. Not forgetting the all-important happy ending. Square Mile book #2, He Turned, is due out 31 August 2020.

A Class Act

Lottie Matheson has everything going for her: wealth and privilege, single-minded ambition and a brand new graduate job in the thick of London’s thrilling start-up scene. But Lottie Matheson isn’t who she seems. Hiding behind a false identity to distance herself from a troubled background, Lottie becomes embroiled in an affair with her brilliant and charismatic but famously attached CEO Marcus Armstrong. But, as their relationship intensifies, their colleagues become suspicious and before long, the secrets are out. All of them. With everything broken – her heart, her reputation, her spirit – will Lottie ever find the strength to start again? A Class Act is part of the Square Mile interlinked series of books, perfect for fans of Louise Bagshawe, Tasmina Perry, LJ Shen and Anna Todd. The Square Mile series follows some of the sexiest and most privileged alpha men in London's famous banking quarter in the City, along with the bright, beautiful and ambitious women who torture them. The books are filled to the brim with brains, money, desire, obsession and rivalry. Not forgetting the all-important happy ending. Square Mile book #2, He Turned, is due out 31 August 2020.

Class Act

And most important, will he finally be able to accept himself? New Kid, the first graphic novel to win the Newbery Medal, is now joined by Jerry Craft's powerful Class Act.

Class Act

New York Times bestselling author Jerry Craft returns with a companion book to New Kid, winner of the 2020 Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize. This time, it’s Jordan’s friend Drew who takes center stage in another laugh-out-loud funny, powerful, and important story about being one of the few kids of color in a prestigious private school. Eighth grader Drew Ellis is no stranger to the saying “You have to work twice as hard to be just as good.” His grandmother has reminded him his entire life. But what if he works ten times as hard and still isn’t afforded the same opportunities that his privileged classmates at the Riverdale Academy Day School take for granted? To make matters worse, Drew begins to feel as if his good friend Liam might be one of those privileged kids. He wants to pretend like everything is fine, but it's hard not to withdraw, and even their mutual friend Jordan doesn't know how to keep the group together. As the pressures mount, will Drew find a way to bridge the divide so he and his friends can truly accept each other? And most important, will he finally be able to accept himself? New Kid, the first graphic novel to win the Newbery Medal, is now joined by Jerry Craft's powerful Class Act.

A Class Act

A Class Act aims to explode the myth that Britain is becoming a classless society, by systematically examining the pillars of the new class structure - education, the monarchy, the armed forces, health, politics, housing and race.

A Class Act

A Class Act aims to explode the myth that Britain is becoming a classless society, by systematically examining the pillars of the new class structure - education, the monarchy, the armed forces, health, politics, housing and race.

Class Act

An International Legal Perspective on Class Discrimination Anne-Marie Mooney
Cotter. Contents. List of Tables Biography 1 Introduction to Class Act 1 2 Class
Act in Class Discrimination 7 3 Class Act in the United Nations 4 Class Act in ...

Class Act

Even today, class discrimination remains an important global legal issue. This book allows readers a better understanding of the issue of class discrimination and inequality, including the role of education in bridging the class systems. The study seeks to increase the likelihood of achieving equality at both the national and international levels for those suffering class discrimination as the international population becomes increasingly educated, looking at the primary role of legislation, which has an impact on the court process. It also discusses the two most important trade agreements of our day - namely the North American Free Trade Agreement and the European Union Treaty - in a historical and compelling analysis of discrimination. By providing a detailed examination of the relationship between class and education as they relate to the law, the book will be an important read for those concerned with equality.

Class Act

We were a black class act, which in the tap world meant that you were well
mannered, well groomed, your attire was excellent, and your material was
extremely polished. We refused to play into any of the stereotypes, so a lot of the
guys who ...

Class Act

Cholly Atkins's career has spanned an extraordinary era of American dance. He began performing during Prohibition and continued his apprenticeship in vaudeville, in nightclubs, and in the army during World War II. With his partner, Honi Coles, Cholly toured the country, performing with such jazz masters as Louis Armstrong, Cab Calloway, and Count Basie. As tap reached a nadir in the fifties, Cholly created the new specialization of "vocal choreography," teaching rhythm-and-blues singers how to perform their music by adding rhythmical dance steps drawn from twentieth-century American dance, from the Charleston to rhythm tap. For the burgeoning Motown record label, Cholly taught such artists as the Supremes, Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, the Temptations, Gladys Knight and the Pips, and Marvin Gaye to command the stage in ways that would enhance their performances and "sell" their songs. Class Act tells of Cholly's boyhood and coming of age, his entry into the dance world of New York City, his performing triumphs and personal tragedies, and the career transformations that won him gold records and a Tony for choreographing Black and Blue on Broadway. Chronicling the rise, near demise, and rediscovery of tap dancing, the book is both an engaging biography and a rich cultural history.

Class Act

(Looks up dreamily, thinking of the good old days) Chorus: Stately Spanish
Galleon Coming from the Isthmus, Dipping through. 12 CLASS ACT – Plays for
Classroom Production R.I.C. PUBLICATIONS www.ricgroup.com.au 26 CLASS
ACT ...

Class Act


Painting Is a Class ACT

Painting is a Class Act provides a structured approach to the development of
painting skills in primary schools. It is aimed specifically at non-specialist art
teachers, but more experienced art teachers will find it inspirational too. The three
-book ...

Painting Is a Class ACT


A Class Act

T. E. Lawrence in Lawrence of Arabia --Lesson Plans: Surface Structure One
afternoon a very intelligent, motivated education major asked me to review the
lesson plan she had created for an imaginary class. Her college instructor
required a ...

A Class Act

EVERYTHING YOU WANTED TO KNOW BUT DIDN'T LEARN IN YOUR EDUCATION COURSES! Part handbook, part memoir, this guide provides practical tips to help first year teachers gain confidence and achieve success. Ralph Maltese is a teacher's teacher, * and he "tells it like it is." A Class Act is truly teaching for smarties: dummies need not apply! Among the topics covered: Marketing yourself Research and Reality Making the bureaucracy work for you Teacher Triage Addressing discipline problems: The Class from Hell The Class, the Whole Class, and nothing but the Class *Classroom teacher for 36 years; technology coach; Fulbright Teacher/Scholar; Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year; State Consultant-Classrooms for the Future; Adjunct Professor for Integrating Technology in the Classroom"

A First Class Act

A First Class Act

Dina Reigns allowed her past to determine her future. Orphaned, adopted, then losing her adoptive parents in a tragic accident, her future appears grim. Her grandmother became her guardian and guided her through her turbulent teen years. Dina never wavered, determined to become a person of value. Educated as nurse, she seeks a Ph.D. in nursing as her ultimate goal; she contracts with a childless couple to become a surrogate mother and uses the money she earns to finance her goal. Drew Tyler is a football player, a wide receiver for the Boston Anchors, a professional team. When he scores the winning touchdown to win the League Championship for the team, in his exuberance, he throws the ball into the stands. That is when he sees Dina, standing, smiling at the red-haired youngster who catches the ball. Stunned by her beauty, he knows that he has to meet her. After many false leads he finally finds her, but she is already pregnant. Can he convince Dina that his love for her is real or does she continue to cling to her goal of proving herself?