Books Out Loud

Bowker's Guide to Audiobooks, 2005

Books Out Loud


Llama Out Loud!

Llama Out Loud!

Sidesplitting middle grade comedy, with serious heart (and one very funny llama). The first in a hilarious new series, perfect for fans of Lightning Girl, Little Badman and Charlie Changes into a Chicken Yasmin Shah is a ten-year-old girl who is part of a big, noisy family and doesn’t ever speak. Levi is a rude, sassy toy llama, who talks A LOT and has come to wreak havoc in Yasmin’s life. Yasmin tries everything she can to escape Levi, but she can’t help being dragged along on his crazy antics – and every day brings a new surprise, whether that’s an erupting bin, a flying tuna fish, or a hat made from knickers. Life is never boring with Levi around – and could it be that he has a secret plan to help Yasmin find her voice?

Books Out Loud - 2 Volume Set, 2020

Books Out Loud - 2 Volume Set, 2020

With the increasing popularity of audiobooks, Books Out Loud is a must-have collection development and reference tool for your library or bookstore.

Out Loud

Out Loud


Musings Out Loud

Musings Out Loud

In Musings Out Loud Emily Purdy chronicles sentiments inspired by life experiences. Unique poems and essays transport the reader to lands of majestic mountains and cascading waterfalls, or a humorous encounter at a remote restaurant. Fantasies beguile both adult and child, while stories of people from Biblical times inspire the seeker of hidden truths. Tales of backwoods adventures or tranquil memories of years past teach readers of all ages that even the most ordinary life reflects rays of delight and charm. Emily ponders out loud her love for family, the world in which she hikes and travels, and the Lord who permeates her life. Emily Purdy's background qualifies her as a gifted and inimitable story teller. She is a mother and grandma, has been an inner city and rural school teacher, food photographer, freelance writer, human service director, short-term missionary, and a hiker of many mountains, streams, and deserts.

Love Out Loud

Love Out Loud

Jesus said, 'You must love the Lord your God with all your soul, mind and strength; and love your neighbour as yourself.' If you had to choose a single verse in the Bible that is a formula for successful living, this would be the one to live by, says Joyce Meyer. Many Christians get mixed up about love. They know they should love God, they know they should love others - but they don't understand what it means to love themselves. Joyce believes that this misconception is one of the greatest pitfalls in the Christian journey. Loving oneself in a balanced, healthy manner is essential in order to have healthy relationships with God and others. Through these inspiring and thoughtful devotions, readers will learn: How to fall in love with God because of who He is rather than what he can give us. Why we cannot truly love ourselves until we truly love God. Why we must love ourselves in order to love others - because it's impossible to give away something you don't possess. Practical ways to put these principles into action and enjoy richer relationships. This powerful volume combines the trademark practical teaching, sound psychology and useful insights that Joyce Meyer is known for and will form a firm basis for devotions for years to come.

Living Out Loud

Living Out Loud

"A panopticon of life in this decade, sure to be valuable to future social historians She touches on life, love, home, family, work, men, women, children and issues large and small." CHICAGO TRIBUNE The voice is Anna Quindlen's. But we know the hopes, dreams, fears, and wonder expressed in all her columns, for most of us share them. With her NEW YORK TIMES-based column, "LIFE IN THE 30s," Anna Quindlen valued to national attention, and this wonderful collection shows why. As she proved in OBJECT LESSONS and THINKIN OUT LOUD, Anna Quindlen's views always fascinate. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Out Loud

A Memoir

Out Loud

Before Mark Morris became "the most successful and influential choreographer alive" (The New York Times), he was a six year-old in Seattle cramming his feet into Tupperware glasses so that he could practice walking on pointe. Moving to New York at nineteen, he arrived to one of the great booms of dance in America. . Morris was flat broke but found a group of likeminded artists that danced together, travelled together, slept together. This collective, led by Morris's fiercely original vision, became the famed Mark Morris Dance Group. Suddenly, Morris was making a fast ascent. Celebrated by The New Yorker's critic as one of the great young talents, an androgynous beauty in the vein of Michelangelo's David, he and his company had arrived. Collaborations with the likes of Mikhail Baryshnikov, Yo-Yo Ma, Lou Harrison, and Howard Hodgkin followed. And so did controversy: from the circus of his tenure at La Monnaie in Belgium to his work on the biggest flop in Broadway history. But through the Reagan-Bush era, the worst of the AIDS epidemic, through rehearsal squabbles and backstage intrigues, Morris emerged as one of the great visionaries of modern dance, a force of nature with a dedication to beauty and a love of the body, an artist as joyful as he is provocative. Out Loud is the bighearted and outspoken story of a man as formidable on the page as he is on the boards. With unusual candor and disarming wit, Morris's memoir captures the life of a performer who broke the mold, a brilliant misfit who found his home in the collective and liberating world of music and dance.

Live Out Loud

Live Out Loud

Join Mark Witas as he skateboards down Sprague Hill, barely escapes the whirling terror of the formidable rapid Satan's Eyeball, paints the neighborhood pets with his friends, and dangles 20 feet from the top of a 70-foot cliff with nowhere to go. His adventurous spirit, engaging sense of humor, and relevant life applications will have you sitting on the edge of your seat day after day.

Laugh Out Loud

Laugh Out Loud

Jimmy loves reading so much that he's inspired to start a book company for kids – run by kids. It's a big dream for a twelve-year-old boy – some would even say it's laugh-out-loud ridiculous! But that doesn't stop Jimmy from dreaming even bigger! His company will be as imaginative and fun as Willy Wonka's chocolate factory... with a Ferris wheel instead of an elevator, a bowling alley in the break room, and a river filled with floating books! He just has to believe in himself and his idea. And maybe win the Lottery. In this hilarious story filled with clever references to children's book favourites, James Patterson shows young readers that anything can be achieved if you believe in yourself no matter what!