Aunt Dimity: Vampire Hunter (Aunt Dimity Mysteries, Book 13)

An enchanting mystery set in the English countryside

Aunt Dimity: Vampire Hunter (Aunt Dimity Mysteries, Book 13)

This time, Lori's supernatural confidante may not be the only one who's not quite dead... Lori Shepherd takes on a potential vampire in Nancy Atherton's thirteenth cosy mystery Aunt Dimity: Vampire Hunter. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton and Ann Granger. 'Hardcore fans will no doubt enjoy' - Publisher's Weekly Life in the Cotswolds couldn't be more blissful for Lori Shepherd - except for one thing: her five-year-old twins have started school, and Lori fears her sons will catch everything from the flu to fleas. Then the twins come home one drizzly day and give her something truly terrifying to worry about. Could the cloaked figure they see in the woods really have been a vampire? With Lori's late (but not entirely departed) Aunt Dimity's help, she begins to investigate. Her trail takes her to Leo, a charming vagabond; to a bitter old crone named Lizzie Black; and finally to Aldercot Hall, where a mysterious murder took place forty years ago. Can Lori uncover the true identity of the twins' vampire before it's too late? What readers are saying about Aunt Dimity: Vampire Hunter: 'The romantic troubles, warm, comedic moments, and cosy English-countryside atmosphere really make this little mystery a frothy charmer' 'Every Aunt Dimity mystery is a delight' 'Five stars'

Aunt Dimity and the Heart of Gold

Aunt Dimity and the Heart of Gold

In the newest installment of the bestselling Aunt Dimity series, a dreary Christmas leads to hidden treasure and new friendships It's almost Christmas in the small English village of Finch--and everyone is sick. Though many of the villagers regretfully decline their invitations to Emma Harris's annual Christmas bash, Lori Shepherd has no intention of missing it. When the winter weather takes a turn for the worse, it's agreed that none of the guests will leave until morning. There's general merriment as the Christmas party becomes a pajama party--until a car appears in the winding driveway and promptly slides off the slick pavement and into a ditch. Matilda "Tilly" Trout--a lost and scatterbrained, middle-aged woman--is mercifully unhurt and invited to stay the night. While she catches her breath, Emma asks her other guests if they would like a tour of the Manor--including an odd room that puzzles her. Several guests put forth guesses as to its purpose, but it's Tilly who correctly identifies the room as a chapel. Placing a palm on one of the ornately-carved panels, Tilly finds a hidden compartment concealing a pile of glittering treasure--including an exquisitely decorated heart made of solid gold. Where did it come from, and why does it look so different from everything else in the chapel? Why didn't Emma even know about this hidden compartment in her own home until now--and how did Tilly? With Aunt Dimity's otherworldly help and Tilly's bewildering store of knowledge, Lori and friends set out to unravel the mystery behind the heart of gold. And, against all odds--and Christmas finally comes to Finch!

Aunt Dimity and The King's Ransom

Aunt Dimity and The King's Ransom

In the 23rd installment of the bestselling Aunt Dimity series, a dark and stormy night kicks off a ghost chase in rural England On a dull and dreary October day, Lori Shepherd and her husband Bill set off for the historic town of Rye, on the southeast coast of England, for a quiet weekend together without the kids. Bill must first pay a visit to a reclusive client--but after Lori drops him off, a powerful storm drives her off course and leaves her stranded in an ancient, rambling inn called The King's Ransom. When Lori is spooked by ghostly noises in the night, Aunt Dimity reminds her rather tartly that not all ghosts intend to harm the living. But the longer Lori is stuck at the inn, the stranger things seem. She learns that the inn was once a hangout for smugglers, and that it's riddled with secret tunnels the smugglers used to reach a network of hidden caves. Then there's the inn's cook--a brawny, gruff ex-con--who seems to have a beef with a mysterious French guest. Are the noises Lori hears made by the spirits of long dead smugglers? Or should she be more worried by the inn's living inhabitants? Joining forces with her new friend Bishop Wyndham, and guided by Aunt Dimity's wise counsel, Lori sets out to discover once and for all who--or what--is haunting The King's Ransom.

Aunt Dimity Down Under (Aunt Dimity Mysteries, Book 15)

A captivating tale of mystery and secrets

Aunt Dimity Down Under (Aunt Dimity Mysteries, Book 15)

A trip to the other side of the world brings fresh adventures... Lori Shepherd travels to New Zealand in Aunt Dimity's fifteenth charming adventure from Nancy Atherton, Aunt Dimity Down Under. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton and Ann Granger. 'Another hit in the long line of Aunt Dimity books' - Suspense Magazine Lori Shepherd is bereft when she learns her beloved neighbours, Ruth and Louise Pym, may be dying. But as she braces herself for a final farewell, Lori receives an unexpected request from the eccentric sisters: to find their long-lost brother before it's too late. Aubrey Pym was banished from his family long ago for wicked deeds, and Lori must travel to New Zealand to find him. Despite her misgivings, she sets out on a journey full of surprises. And with the help of a charming Kiwi and the otherworldly guidance of her late Aunt Dimity, Lori begins to unravel the web of secrets that have haunted the Pym family for generations. What readers are saying about Aunt Dimity Down Under: 'A sprightly visit to the land down under the Land Down Under, with plenty of humour, sorrow, and a touch of Tolkienmania' 'A book that leaves you smiling' 'Five stars'

Aunt Dimity Slays the Dragon

Aunt Dimity Slays the Dragon

Everyone's favorite supernatural detective steps in to thwart unchivalrous deeds at a Renaissance fair in this perfectly irresistable gem of a novel After living in the small English village of Finch for eight years, Lori Shepherd longs for some excitement to spice up her all-too-familiar routine. So when a Renaissance festival complete with wizards, wenches, knights, and jesters sets up in town for the summer, Lori gets her wish-and more. She soon discovers a sinister stalker, a jealous saboteur, and an evil assassin behind the scenes of King Wilfred's Faire, and it's up to Lori-with Aunt Dimity's otherworldly guidance-to prevent the medieval revelry from ending in modern-day tragedy.

100 Most Popular Contemporary Mystery Authors: Biographical Sketches and Bibliographies

Biographical Sketches and Bibliographies

100 Most Popular Contemporary Mystery Authors: Biographical Sketches and Bibliographies

Provide your mystery fans with background information on their favorite writers and series characters, and use this as a guide for adding contemporary titles to your collections. • Provides interesting and informative profiles of 100 popular, contemporary mystery and crime writers as well as overviews of their series characters • Contains over 60 author photographs • A bibliography lists information on each author's works as well as supporting source materials for the profiles

The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 20

The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 20

This annual collection of exceptional horror and dark fantasy fiction stories is the essential must-have for horror buffs. The 20th edition of this showcase of horror includes a comprehensive overview of international selections, an impressively researched necrology, and a list of indispensable contact addresses for the dedicated horror fan and aspiring writer of true horror.

Cassette Books

Cassette Books